

COUNCIL COMMITTEE REPORT Public Safety Committee

Date: November 22, 2021

Agenda Item #: 4

Agenda Item: Discuss and recommend judicial appointments to the City of Austin Municipal

Court.

Vote:

The motion approving the judicial appointments to the City of Austin Municipal Court was passed on Mayor Pro Tem Harper-Madison's motion, seconded by Council Member Casar, without objection with a 3-0 vote. Mayor Adler was off the dais.

Original Sponsors/Department:

Mayor Pro Tem Natasha Harper-Madison and Council Member Gregorio Casar.

Summary of Discussion:

Rebecca Kennedy, Assistant Director of the Human Resources Department.

Mayor Pro Tem Harper-Madison recessed the Public Safety Committee meeting to go into Executive Session at 2:23 p.m. to discuss recommendations for judicial appointments to the City of Austin Municipal Court (Personnel matters - Section 551.074 of the Government Code). Executive Session ended at 3:17 p.m.

Direction:

Item is to be sent to the full Council for consideration.

Recommendation:

The Public Safety Committee approved the following recommendations for judicial appointments to the City of Austin Municipal Court:

Sherry Statman for the presiding Judge of the Municipal Court; Alfred Jenkins, George Thomas, Steven Vigorito, Barbara Garcia, Patrick McNelis, Michael Coffey, and Tanisa Jeffers to serve as associate judges of the Municipal Court; Michael Coffey to serve as the judge of the Downtown Community Court; Tanisa Jeffers to serve as the Central Booking Overnight Magistrate; Ferdinand Clervi, Brian Guerra, Christyne Harris Schultz, Belinda Herrera, Stanley Kerr, Ronald Meyerson, Olga Seelig, Pamela Sigman, Ryan Turner, Kenneth Vitucci, and John Yeager to serve as Substitute Judges.