

#### COMMUNITY TECHNOLOGY & TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

### **MINUTES**

Wednesday – December 8, 2021 – 6:30 PM City Hall – Boards and Commissions - Room 1101 301 W. 2nd Street - Austin, TX 78701

Please go to <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards">http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards</a> commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm for backup material associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U- Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at:

http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.

#### **CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

Sophie Gairo - Mayor Steve Adler
Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1
Steven Apodaca – Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2
Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member Sabino "Pio" Renteria, District 3
Vacant - Council Member Gregorio Casar, District 4
Dave Floyd - Council Member Ann Kitchen, District 5
Iliya Svirsky - Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, District 6
Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Jennifer Ramos - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8
Nicole Thompson – Council Member Kathie Tovo, District 9
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

#### **Commission Members Present**

Nehemiah Pitts III Nicole Thompson Steven Apodaca Sophie Gairo Sumit DasGupta Malcolm Yeatts

### **Commission Members Attending Remotely**

Dave Floyd Maxine Eiland

## **Unexcused Absence**

#### CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called to order at 6:55 PM.

### **CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

# 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – October 13, 2021

Motion to approve the October 13, 2021 minutes made by Commissinoer Dasgupta and seconded by Commissioner Thompson passed on a vote of 8-0.

- 2. STAFF AND COMMUNITY BRIEFINGS (A member of the public may not address a board at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing)
  - a. Telecommunications and Regulatory Affairs update Rondella Hawkins, TARA Officer, Financial Services Department

TARA Legislative update can be viewed here.

b. HACA Mobile Hot Spot Speed & Connection Testing – Catherine Crago, Head of Strategic Initiatives, Housing Authority of the City of Austin & Austin Pathways, and Ashlee Johnson, ACC IT Intern

Presentation by Catherine Crago, Maddy Denakpo Saizonou, and John Bratcher can be viewed here.

c. Briefing on the Reliable and Affordable Broadband for All Project – Khotan Harmon, Leadership Austin Fellow

Presentation by Khotan Harmon can be viewed here.

- 3. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)
  - a. Digital Inclusion Week Art Competition Jesse Rodriguez, Interim Program Manager, Financial Services Department (discussion and possible action)

The Digital Inclusion Week Art Competition winners were announced as follows:

- First Place: Zahraa Alfatle, 11
- Second Place: Sowmya Kulukuru, 14
- Third Place: Isabelle Call, 11

The winning pieces can be viewed here.

# b. Digital Equity and Inclusion Town Hall – Chair Nehemiah Pitts III (Commission discussion and possible action)

Chair Pitts gave an overview of the Digital Equity and Inclusion Town Hall meeting that occurred in October. He noted a desire to directly address the challenges raised during the Town Hall and called for more frequent events like this one.

The presentation can be viewed here.

Motion in support of the Commission holding either semi-annual or quarterly lived experience share-outs/town hall meetings made by Chair Pitts and seconded by commissioner DasGupta passed on a vote of 8-0.

# c. Election of Officers – Vice Chair (Commission discussion and action)

Commissioner Gairo nominated Commissioner Thompson to serve as Vice Chair, but Commissioner Thompson declined the nomination.

Commissioner Eiland nominated Commissioner Apodaca to serve as Vice Chair. Commissioner Apodaca accepted the nomination.

Commissioner DasGupta nominated Commissioner Gairo to serve as Vice Chair, but Commissioner Gairo declined the nomination.

Chair Pitts nominated Commissioner Floyd to serve as Vice Chair, and Commissioner Floyd accepted the nomination.

On a coin toss, votes were cast for Commissioner Apodaca first and Commissioner Floyd second.

<u>First vote for Commissioner Apodaca to serve as Vice Chair: 3-4-1, with Commissioners Eiland, Apodaca, and Yeatts in favor and Commissioner Gairo abstaining.</u>

<u>First vote for Commissioner Floyd to serve as Vice Chair: 4-3-1, with</u>
<u>Commissioners Pitts, Floyd, Thompson, and DasGupta in favor and Commissioner Gairo abstaining.</u>

On Commissioner Gairo's suggestion, each candidate offered their opening remarks on why they are interested in serving as Vice Chair and the experience and vision that they would bring to the position.

Commissioner Eiland and Chair Pitts each gave supporting remarks on their respective nominations.

# Second vote for Commissioner Floyd to serve as Vice Chair: 4-4, with Commissioners Pitts, Floyd, Thompson, and DasGupta in favor

# Second vote for Commissioner Apodaca to serve as Vice Chair: 4-4, with Commissioners Eiland, Apodaca, Yeatts, and Gairo in favor.

With a tie, the commission decided to table the vote for Vice Chair till the next meeting.

## 4. COMMISSION UPDATES (Discussion and Possible Action)

# a. Digital Inclusion, Civic Engagement, and Strategic Technology and Telecom Policy Working Group

Chair Pitts gave a reminder that GTOPs letters of interest are due on January 9<sup>th</sup> and expressed appreciation to the presentations from Khotan and Rondella for their digital inclusion related updates.

## b. Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group

Chair Pitts noted that this working group is without a chair. Commissioners Eiland, Floyd, Pitts, and Eiland noted availability on Thursdays, and decided to meet on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Thursday of each month, beginning on January 13<sup>th</sup>.

Commissioner Floyd was made chair of this working group.

# c. Technology, Infrastructure, and Innovation Working Group

Commissioner DasGupta gave an update on the working groups discussions with the Autonomy Institute's Jeff DeCoux on Public Infrastructure Network Nodes (PINNs). Jeff is looking for the best connections to make within the City and with City Council to build support for building out the network of PINNs.

# **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

Presentation by Alba Sereno, Chief Research and Strategic Initiatives Officer Internet Carriers
Part 2 of the Town Hall report
Vice Chair Vote
GTOPs Letter of Interest
APD update on video backlog and their app
Project Connect
Council vote database

### **ADJOURNMENT**

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give

notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Jesse Rodriguez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-7676, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a> or contact Jesse Rodriguez at <a href="jesse.rodriguez@austintexas.gov">jesse.rodriguez@austintexas.gov</a>.

Posting Submitted by: Jesse Rodriguez, Business Process Specialist, Wednesday, October 13, 2021