

PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE MINUTES

SPECIAL CALLED MEETING November 22, 2021

The PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE convened in a special called, hybrid meeting format on November 22, 2021 at 301 W. 2nd Street in Austin, Texas.

Committee Chair Harper-Madison called the committee meeting to order at 2:12 p.m.

Committee Members in Attendance:

Mayor Pro Tem Harper-Madison, Council Member Casar, Council Member Kelly, and Mayor Adler.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the September 20, 2021 meeting of the Public Safety Committee.

Sponsors: Mayor Pro Tem Natasha Harper-Madison and Council Member Gregorio Casar

The motion approving the minutes of the September 20, 2021 meeting of the Public Safety Committee was passed on Committee Member Kelly's motion, seconded by Vice Chair Casar, without objection, with a 4-0 vote.

DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

2. Approve the proposed 2022 Public Safety Committee meeting schedule.

Sponsors: Mayor Pro Tem Natasha Harper-Madison and Council Member Gregorio Casar

The motion approving the 2022 Public Safety Committee meeting schedule was passed on Vice Chair Casar's motion, seconded by Mayor Adler, without objection, with a 4-0 vote.

3. Discuss and recommend judicial appointments to the City of Austin Municipal Court.

Sponsors: Mayor Pro Tem Natasha Harper-Madison and Council Member Gregorio Casar

Rebecca Kennedy, Assistant Director of the Human Resources Department, made a presentation to the Committee on this item. Judge Mitchell Solomon also addressed the Committee on this item.

Following conclusion of the Executive Session discussion in Item #4, Committee Chair Harper-Madison moved to recommend to the City Council the following individuals for judicial appointments for the term beginning January 1, 2022:

Sherry Statman for the presiding Judge of the Municipal Court; Alfred Jenkins, George Thomas, Steven Vigorito, Barbara Garcia, Patrick McNelis, Michael Coffey, and Tanisa Jeffers to serve as associate judges of the Municipal Court; Michael Coffey to serve as the judge of the Downtown Community Court; Tanisa Jeffers to serve as the Central Booking Overnight Magistrate; Ferdinand Clervi, Brian Guerra, Christyne Harris Schultz, Belinda Herrera, Stanley Kerr, Ronald Meyerson,

Olga Seelig, Pamela Sigman, Ryan Turner, Kenneth Vitucci, and John Yeager to serve as Substitute Judges

The motion was seconded by Vice-Chair Casar and passed without objection with a 3-0 vote. Mayor Adler was off the dais.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

4. Discuss recommendations for judicial appointments to the City of Austin Municipal Court (Personnel matters - Section 551.074 of the Government Code).

Committee Chair Harper-Madison recessed the Public Safety Committee meeting to go into Executive Session at 2:23 p.m. The Executive Session ended at 3:17 p.m.

ADJOURN

Committee Chair Harper-Madison adjourned the meeting at 3:22 p.m.

These minutes were approved at the February 8, 2022 meeting of the Public Safety Committee passed on Vice Chair Kelly's motion, seconded by Council Member Ellis, without objection, with a 3-0 vote, with Chair Harper-Madison off the dais.