

### **DESIGN COMMISSION**

Monday, FEBRUARY 28, 2022, 6:00 PM

# **AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS & COMMISSIONS, ROOM 1101**

301 W 2ND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Some members of the Design Commission may be participating by videoconference.

The meeting may be viewed online at:

http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely by telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation. To register email art.zamorano@austintexas.gov or call (512) 974-3583.

# **CURRENT MEMBERS:**

AGENDA	
Evan Taniguchi (Mayor)	
Melissa Henao-Robledo (District 5)	Ben Luckens (District10)
Josue Meiners (District 4)	Bart Whatley (District9)
Samuel Franco (District 3)	Aan Coleman (District8)
Jon Salinas (District 2)	Jessica Rollason Vice-Chair (District 7
David Carroll, Chair(District 1)	Jen Weaver (District 6)

**CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL** 

**PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL** 

- 1. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion & Possible Action):
  - Discussion and possible action to evaluate and make recommendations regarding whether the Rainey Street Trailhead project, located at 36 East Ave., complies with the City Design and Sustainability Standards, for the City of Austin.
    - Applicant(s): <u>Heidi Anderson Charlotte Tonsor</u> and <u>Nick Blok</u> The Trailhead Foundation.
  - Discussion and possible action to evaluate and make recommendations regarding whether the
    project at 307 and 319 E. 2nd St., complies with the Urban Design Guidelines for the city of Austin.
    Applicant(s): <a href="Dave Anderson">Dave Anderson</a>, Drenner Group; <a href="Larry Speck">Larry Speck</a>, Page/; <a href="Trent Rush">Trent Rush</a>, Hitchcock Design
    Group; and Jake George, Intracorp

c. Discussion and possible action to evaluate and make recommendations regarding whether **Block 150**, located at 402 and 416 W. 12th St., complies with the Urban Design Guidelines for the city of Austin. Applicant(s): Michael Whellan, Armbrust & Brown; and Kelly Somers, SCB,.

### 2. COMMISSION-SPECIFIC BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):

- a. Approval of the January 24th meeting minutes
- b. Update from representative on the Downtown Commission regarding last meeting
- c. Update from representative on the Joint Sustainability committee regarding last meeting
- d. Update from representative on the South-Central Waterfront Advisory Board

#### 3. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- a. Chair Announcements;
- b. Items from Commission Members;
- c. Items from City Staff;

#### 4. ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Art Zamorano in the Planning and Zoning Department <a href="mailto:art.zamorano@austintexas.gov">art.zamorano@austintexas.gov</a> (512) 974-3583, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

### Design Commission: Committees, Working Groups, Representatives and Liaisons

### **Committees**

1. Executive Committee: D. Carroll (Chair), J. Rollason (Vice Chair)

#### **Working Groups**

- 1. Planning & Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley, A. Coleman, D. Carroll
- 2. Architecture & Development Working Group: B. Whatley, D. Carroll
- 3. Landscape & Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A.Coleman,
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo
- 5. **Infrastructure Design Guidelines Working Group**: D. Carroll, E. Taniguchi, B. Luckens
- 6. **Urban Design Guidelines Working Group:** D. Carroll, A. Coleman, J. Meiners, J. Rollason, E. Taniguchi

### Representatives & Liaisons

- 1. South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Representative: S. Franco
- 2. Downtown Commission Liaison: J. Weaver
- 3. Joint Sustainability Committee Liaison: D. Carroll(Chair)

# **Staff to Design Commission**

City of Austin, Street-Jones Building 1000 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78702. Housing and Planning Department, Urban Design Division

Executive Liaison: <u>Jorge.Rousselin@austintexas.gov</u> (512) 974-2975 Staff Liaison: art.zamorano@austintexas.gov (512) 974-3583

Downtown Density Bonus Program: Jorge.Rousselin@austintexas.gov (512) 974-2975

Public Works Department, Office of the City Architect, 9<sup>th</sup> floor City Architect:

Janice. White@austintexas.gov (512) 974-7997

#### Resources

1. Urban Design Guidelines for Austin:

http://www.austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Boards\_and\_Commissions/Desig\_n\_ Commission\_urban\_design\_guidelines\_for\_austin.pdf

2. Design Commission backup:

http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards commissions/meetings/22 1.htm

3. Downtown Density Bonus program:

https://www.municode.com/library/tx/austin/codes/land\_development\_code?nodeId=TIT25 LADE\_CH25- 2ZO\_SUBCHAPTER\_CUSDERE\_ART3ADRECEDI\_SPAGERE\_S25-2-586DOD