

COMMUNITY TECHNOLOGY & TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

MINUTES

Regular Meeting
Wednesday – January 12, 2022 – 6:30 PM
City Hall – Boards and Commissions - Room 1101
301 W. 2nd Street - Austin, TX 78701

Please go to http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards commissions/meetings/10_1.htm for backup material associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U- Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at:

http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.

CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Sophie Gairo - Mayor Steve Adler
Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1
Steven Apodaca – Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2
Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member Sabino "Pio" Renteria, District 3
Vacant - Council Member Gregorio Casar, District 4
Dave Floyd - Council Member Ann Kitchen, District 5
Iliya Svirsky - Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, District 6
Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Jennifer Ramos - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8
Nicole Thompson – Council Member Kathie Tovo, District 9
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

Commission Members Present

Nehemiah Pitts III Nicole Thompson Sophie Gairo Malcolm Yeatts Dave Floyd Jennifer Ramos

Commission Members Attending Remotely

Sumit DasGupta Steven Apodaca

Unexcused Absence

Iliya Svirsky Maxine Eiland

CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called to order at 6:41 pm

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No citizens were signed up to speak.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – December 8, 2021

Commissioner Gairo requested an amendment to the minutes adding the designation of Commissioner Floyd as chair of the Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group to the minutes.

Motion to approve the minutes as amended made by Commissioner Thompson, seconded by Ramos, passed on a vote of 8-0.

- 2. STAFF AND COMMUNITY BRIEFINGS (A member of the public may not address a board at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing)
 - a. Office of Innovation Briefing (Alba Sereno, Chief Research & Strategic Initiatives Officer, Innovation Office)

Presentation by Alba Sereno can be viewed <u>here</u>.

b. Update on the Grant for Technology Opportunity Program Letter of Interest Process (Jesse Rodriguez, Interim Program Manager, Financial Services Department)

Jesse Rodriguez gave an update on Letter's of Interest received for the Grant for Technology Opportunities Program. In all, 28 letters were received, in comparison to 35 in 2021, 21 in 2020 and 31 in 2019.

January 14 is the date that the full applications open up for organizations who submitted letters of interest.

- 3. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)
 - a. Selection of the 2022 GTOPs Core Review Panel (Commission Discussion and Action)

Eight applications to serve as review panelists were evaluated by the commission. After some vote were tallied, the commission decided to postpone the vote till the next meeting, with staff working on additional recruitment and to allow for ranked choice voting.

Motion to table the selection of the GTOPs Core 2022 Review Panel made by Chair Pitts and seconded by Commissioner Ramos passed on a vote of 8-0.

b. Digital Equity and Inclusion Town Hall Discussion 2 – Chair Nehemiah Pitts III (Commission discussion and possible action)

Chair Pitts discussed the developing plan to continue hosting and participating in community conversations around digital inclusion, in partnership with Austin Public Library and the Office of Telecommunications and Regulatory Affairs.

c. Election of Officers – Vice Chair (Commission discussion and action)

Commissioner Yeatts nominated Commissioner Apodaca to serve as Vice Chair, and Commissioner Apodaca accepted the nomination.

Chair Pitts nominated Commissioner Floyd to serve as Vice Chair, and Commissioner Floyd declined the nomination.

Motion to nominate Commissioner Apodaca made by Commissioner Yeatts and seconded by Chair Pitts passed on a vote of 8-0.

4. COMMISSION UPDATES (Discussion and Possible Action)

a. Digital Inclusion, Civic Engagement, and Strategic Technology and Telecom Policy Working Group

Chair Pitts noted that he had a conversation with Emi Johnson with APL regarding usage of Zoom licenses for public benefit.

Chair Pitts suggested that the commission pursue presentations from Chris Stewart, Jason John-Michael, and Jeff DeCoux in the context of the working group sessions.

b. Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group

Commissioner Dave Floyd was appointed as the Chair of this working group, and will take over updates for this group going forward.

c. Technology, Infrastructure, and Innovation Working Group

Commissioner DasGupta noted that the working group is interested in smart infrastructure and knowing more about the restrictions of what GAATN can and cannot be used for. He

also noted the importance of continuing the conversation around PINNs. There is also a desire to explore public/private partnerships within this working group, as well as research on GAATN and how it can be leveraged to support connectivity in Austin.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Presentation by CIO Chris Stewart, maybe in March Presentation by Austin Public Library GTOPs 2022 Reviewer Appointment Public Private Partnerships or other items to synergize with SXSW

ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn made by Commissioner Ramos and seconded by Commissioner DasGupta passed on a vote of 8-0 at 8:49 pm

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Jesse Rodriguez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-7676, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc or contact Jesse Rodriguez at jesse.rodriguez@austintexas.gov.

Posting Submitted by: Jesse Rodriguez, Business Process Specialist, Wednesday, October 13, 2021