

# ARTS COMMISSION SPECIAL CALLED MEETING

January 31, 2022 AT 6:00 PM

Austin City Hall, Council Chambers, Room 1001 301 W 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701

Some members of the Arts Commission may be participating by videoconference.

The meeting may be viewed online at:

http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live

**Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely by telephone.** Speakers may only register to speak on an item once, either in-person, or remotely and will be allowed up to three (3) minutes to provide their comments. Speakers wishing to participate remotely by telephone are required to register in advance no later than noon the day before the meeting.

To register to speak remotely email or call Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis at annemarie.mckaskle@austintexas.gov, 512-974-7854 by noon on Sunday, January 30, 2022.

#### **CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:**

Michelle Polgar – Chair, Celina Zisman – Vice Chair, Brett Barnes, Jaime Castillo, Lulu Flores, Felipe Garza, Acia Gray, kYmberly Keeton, Amy Mok, Heidi Schmalbach, Rick Van Dyke

Commissioners Schmalbach, Garza absent

## **MINUTES**

### CALL TO ORDER

### CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

None

### 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- a. Approve the minutes for the regular Arts Commission meeting on:
  - i. December 15, 2021

Motion to Approve the minutes for the regular Arts Commission meeting on December 15, 2021

Motioned: **Castillo** Seconded: Mok

Approved 9-0

Commissioners Schmalbach and Garza absent

### 2. CHAIR'S REPORT

- a. Updates Council Action on ARPA Funding; Equity WG; Reminder of Equity Resources; Communication
- b. Art in Public Places Liaison Report Commissioner Barnes
- c. AEDC/Cultural Trust Advisory Committee Report Carl Settles
- d. Downtown Commission Report Commissioner Keeton

### 3. SPECIAL PRESENTATION

a. Ground Floor Theatre – Lisa Scheps, Founder & Co-Artistic Director

Motion to move item 6.b.i to before Staff Briefings

Moved: Flores Seconded Castillo

Approved 9-0

#### 4. STAFF BRIEFINGS

- a. ARPA and Non-Profit Relief Funding Update Laura Odegaard, Cultural Investment Program Manager
- b. Hotel Occupancy Tax Update Sylnovia Holt-Rabb, Acting Economic Development Department Director
- c. Cultural Funding Review Process Update Meghan Wells, Cultural Arts Division Manager

Motion to move 5.b.i before Old Business

Moved: Castillo Seconded: Flores

Approved 9-0

### 5. OLD BUSINESS

- a. Discussion and Possible Action on Cultural Funding Review Process No action taken
- b. Discussion and Possible Action on Working Groups and Working Group Updates
  - Equity Working Group with Community Arts leaders of the BIPOC/LGBTQIA/Disabilities Community/Women with Commissioners Keeton (chair) and commissioners Castillo, Gray, Polgar and community members

Motion to nominate Commissioner Zisman to serve on the working group

Moved: Gray Second: Flores

Approved 8-0

Commissioner Van Dyke off the dais

Motion to move 6.a above 5.b.ii

Moved: Flores Seconded: **Zisman** 

Approved 7-0

Commissioner Mok and Van Dyke off the dais

ii. Joint Working Group for Joint Cultural Committee with Commission Chair Polgar, Commissioner Castillo (chair) and working group members from the Quality of Life Commissions

No action taken

iii. Joint Music/Arts Commission Working Group to identify additional funding resources and strategies beyond HOT with Commissioner Schmalbach (chair), and Commissioners Castillo, Flores, Zisman and members from the Music Commission

No action taken

- iv. Quarterly Arts Community Commission Meet-ups Working Group with Commissioners Barnes, Castillo (chair), Garza and Gray
  No action taken
- v. Emergency Funding and Proactive Strategies for Future Funding Working Group with Commissioners Flores, Polgar, Schmalbach, Van Dyke, and Zisman (chair)

No action taken

vi. Art Neighborhoods Working Group with Commissioners Gray, Mok, Zisman, and Van Dyke (chair)

No action taken

vii. Public Private Partnership (P3) working group with Commissioners Barnes (Chair), Schmalbach, Flores and Mok, and AIPP Panel members Joel Nolan and Stephanie **Lemmo** 

No action taken

#### 6. NEW BUSINESS

- a. AIPP discussion and action items
  - i. Approve the prospectus for the Dove Springs Public Health Facility Art in Public Places Project

Motion to approve the prospectus for the Dove Springs Public Health Facility Art in Public Places Project

Moved: Flores Seconded: Barnes

8-0

Commissioner Mok off the dais

ii. Approve the prospectus for the Comal Pocket Park Art in Public Places Project

Motion to approve the prospectus for the Comal Pocket Park Art in Public Places Project

Moved: Castillo Seconded: Barnes

8-0

Commissioner Mok off the dais

- b. Misc. Discussion and Possible Action Items
  - i. Appoint New Arts Commission Liaison to the Downtown Commission Motion to appoint Commissioner Mok to the Downtown Commission

Motioned: Flores Seconded: Castillo

Approved 9-0

ii. Items to take forward to Downtown Commission

### No action taken

- iii. Forging a Healthy Creative Economy: the Path Forward No action taken
- iv. Schedule Arts Commission Retreat No action taken
  - v. Fiscal Sponsorship No action taken

### 7. ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

Arts Commission Community Chat February 9, hosted by Future Front Dedication for the Willie Wells Field will be Saturday February 5 at 11am 8403 Mesa Drive People's Gallery call is open Visual Artist can apply for a \$15,000 award – see Big Medium.org for more information Trail Foundation has a call for artists

### 8. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Parks and Rec CIP update State Leg Update Community Navigators update Staff fiscal sponsorship update?

## **ADJOURNMENT 7:49pm**

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call <u>Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis</u> at Economic Development Department, at <u>512-974-7854</u>, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Arts Commission, please contact <u>Anne-Marie McKaskle-Davis</u> at 512-974-7854.