

Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission June 1, 2022 at 6:00 P.M. Permitting and Development Center, Events Center, Room 1405 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive, Austin, Texas 78752 Some members of the Environmental Commission will be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely by telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation.

To register to speak remotely, call or email the board liaison Kaela Champlin, (512) 974-3443, <u>Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov</u>, no later than noon, (the day before the meeting). The following information is required: speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, email address and telephone number (must be the same number that will be used to call into the meeting).

COMMISSIONERS:

Haris Qureshi (D-1)	Rachel Scott (D-2)	Pam Thompson (D-3)	Melinda Schiera (D-4)
Audrey Barrett Bixler (D-5)	Colin Nickells (D-6)	Jennifer Bristol (D-7) Secretary	Kevin Ramberg (D-8) Chair
Ana Aguirre (D-9)	Richard Brimer (D-10)	Perry Bedford (Mayor) Vice-Chair	

Agenda

CALL TO ORDER

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approval of the May 18, 2022 Environmental Commission Regular Meeting Minutes (5 minutes)

2. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Briefing on the 517 Lamar PUD Development Assessment—Heather Chaffin, Housing and Planning Department (**30 minutes**)

3. PUBLIC HEARINGS

- a. Consider a proposed annexation of approximately 5.03 acres into Travis County Water Control and Improvement District No. 10, C12M-2022-0001—Andrei Lubomudrov, Housing and Planning Department (30 minutes)
- b. Name: Sky Mountain, SP-2021-0079C Applicant: Reese Hurley, LJA Engineering, Inc. Location: 8722 W SH 71, Austin, TX 78735 Council District: District 8 Staff: Pamela Abee-Taulli, Environmental Program Coordinator, Development Services Department and Miranda Reinhard, Watershed Protection Department Watershed: Williamson Creek, Barton Springs Zone, Drinking Water Protection Zone Requests: Request to vary from LDC 25-8-341to allow cut over 4 feet to 16 feet. Staff Recommendation: Recommended with conditions (15 minutes)
- c. Name: 8020 Parmer Lane SH 130 NW, C8J-2021-0141.0A Applicant: Pape-Dawson Engineers, Travis Moltz Location: 8106 E PARMER LN, Manor, TX 78653 Council District: None (Extraterritorial Jurisdiction) Staff: Pamela Abee-Taulli, Environmental Program Coordinator, Development Services Department Watershed: Gilleland Creek and Harris Branch Creek Watersheds, Suburban Classification, Desired Development Zone Requests: Variance request is as follows:

 Request to vary from LDC 30-5-341 to allow fill over 4 feet to 15 feet.
 Request to vary from 30-5-261(G) to allow floodplain modification in a critical water quality zone buffer.

 Staff Recommendation: Recommended with conditions (15 minutes)
- Name: Austin Ready Mix Wastewater Service Extension Request #5313
 Applicant: Danny Miller, P.E., LJA Engineering, Inc.
 Location: 8738 W US 290 Hwy, Austin, Texas 78736
 Council District: Austin 2-Mile Extraterritorial Jurisdiction
 Staff: Kaela Champlin, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department

Watershed: Slaughter Creek Watershed, Barton Springs Zone, Edwards Aquifer Contributing Zone, Drinking Water Protection Zone Requests: Wastewater service extension Staff Recommendation: Recommended (20 minutes)

4. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a. Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Pam Thompson, Rachel Scott, and Colin Nickells
- b. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
- c. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee – Jennifer Bristol
- d. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board –Pam Thompson, Rachel Scott, Perry Bedford, and Haris Qureshi
- e. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Ana Aguirre

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please call **Kaela Champlin** at Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).