

REGULAR CALLED MEETING of the PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION AUGUST 1, 2022, 4 PM CITY HALL/BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM #1101 301 W. 2ND STREET AUSTIN, TEXAS

Some members of the PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION may be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</u>

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone. To register to speak remotely, call or email Janet Jackson, (512) 974-5747, or Janet.jackson@austintexas.gov.

CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS/COMMISSIONERS:

Rebecca Bernhardt, *Chair* Rocky Lane Kathleen Hausenfluck Michael Sierra-Arévalo Rebecca Gonzales Nelly Paulina Ramirez, Vice Chair John Kiracofe Rebecca Webber Cory Hall-Martin

AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER 4:00-4:05

<u>PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL</u> 4:05–4:15 (from speakers signed up to speak)

The first three speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES 4:15 pm-4:20pm

- 1. Approve the minutes of the PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING on June 6, 2022.
- 2. Approve the minutes of the PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING on July 5, 2022.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 3. Discussion and possible action on Austin Police Department Quarterly Report 4:20pm-4:40pm
 - Dr. Jonathan Kringen, Austin Police Department
- 4. Discussion and possible action regarding implementation of the settlement agreement in Smith et al v. City of Austin et al, Cause No. D-1-GN-21-003081 in the 201st District Court, Travis County, Texas; Senko et al v. City of Austin et al, Cause No. 1:20-cv-01047, in the United States District Court Western Division, Austin, Texas and the pending Police Executive Research Forum report regarding Austin Police Department's handling of sexual assault investigations. 4:40pm—5:20pm
 - Commander Greenwalt, Austin Police Department
 - Travis County District Attorney José Garza or Assistant District Attorney Erin Martinson, Director of the Special Victim's Unit
 - Jenny Ecklund, Partner, Thompson Coburn, attorney for the *Smith and Senko* plaintiffs
 - Chair of the Travis County Sexual Assault Response and Resource Team
- 5. Discussion and possible action regarding the Austin Police Department's current policies and tactics in responding to protest organizing and protest activity. 5:20pm—5:50pm
 - Commander Wroblewski, Austin Police Department
 - Kevin Welch, President of Austin Electronic Frontier Foundation

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS 5:50pm—5:55pm

ADJOURNMENT 5:55pm—6:00pm

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Janet Jackson, Austin Police Department, at 512-974-547, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Public Safety Commission, please contact Chief of Staff, Robin Henderson at 512-974-5030.