

Commission for Women REGULAR CALLED MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, August 3, 2022

The Commission for Women convened in a regular meeting on Wednesday, August 3, 2022, at 301 W 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701 Austin City Hall – Boards and Commission Room 1101

Chair Rebecca Austen called the Commission for Women Meeting to order at 12:11 p.m.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:

Rebecca Austen, Chair Flannery Bope, Vice Chair Juliana Gonzales Pam Rattan Desiree Bermea

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:

Diana Melendez Jocelyn Tau Neva Fernandez Priscilla Cortez

Board Members/Commissioners Absent:

Vanessa Bissereth Josephine Serrata

Staff in Attendance:

Kiarrah Carlisle, Office of Civil Rights

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

None.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Commission for Women regular meeting on July 13, 2022. The minutes from the meeting of (07/13/2022) were approved on Chair Austen's motion, Vice Chair Flannery Bope's second on a (7-0) vote. (Commissioners Pam Rattan and Desiree Bermea were not in attendance at the time of the motion. Commissioners Vanessa Bissereth and Josephine Serrata were absent.)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

2. Discussion and possible action on Presentation by Amanda Rohlich, Food Policy Advisor, and Emmie DiCicco, Food Policy Intern, from the Office of Sustainability on Austin's First-Ever Food Plan.

Discussion was held. No action was taken.

3. Discussion and possible action regarding the City of Austin annual budget process. **Discussion was held. No action was taken.**

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

- 4. Member update from Working Group on Homelessness.
 - Discussion was held. No action was taken.
- 5. Member update from Working Group on Safety **Discussion was held. No action was taken.**
- 6. Member update from Working Group on Health **Discussion was held. No action was taken.**
- 7. Member update from Working Group on Recognition of Equity for Women and Girls **Discussion was held. No action was taken.**

Chair Rebecca Austen adjourned the meeting at 1:17 p.m. without objection.

The minutes were approved at the September 7, 2022 meeting on Chair Rebecca Austen's motion, Commissioner Pam Rattan's second on a 6-0 vote.