

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) January 19, 2022, at 6:00 p.m. Permitting and Development Center (PDC); Event Center 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr.

Austin, TX 78752

CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Prabhu Kannan Hoang Le
Brigham Morris Shaina Kambo
Errol Hardin Sara Inés Calderón
Eugene Schneider Selina Yee

Erin Dempsey Christina Puentes, Chair

Luis Gonzalez, Vice-Chair Joshua Blank
Dr. Sterling Lands Camellia Falcon

Members in Attendance	Staff In Attendance
Christina Puentes, Chair	Matthew Dugan, City's Planning Manager
Luis Gonzalez, Vice Chair	Gretchen Nagy, Travis County Voter
Joshua Blank	Registration Director
Sara Inés Calderón	Eric Stene, City Clerk's Records and
Erin Dempsey	Information Office Manager
Camellia Falcon	George Korbel, Mapping Specialist
Errol Hardin	Christine Granados, ICRC Administrative
Shaina Kambo	
Prabhu Kannan	
Hoang Le	
Eugene Schneider	
Selina Yee	

MINUTES

Meeting Goals: Update on Travis County Redistricting; Discussion of Retention of Records and Documents; Approval of Final Report; Approval of New Staff Contracts; Discussion of Creating Criteria for Staff to Act Upon Future Annexations; Updates on Roadmap/Timeline; and Updates from Working Groups and Subcommittees

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Puentes called the meeting to order at 6:08 p.m. with 10 members present. Commissioner Schneider joined at 6:10 p.m. and Commissioner Le joined at 6:13pm.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

There was no citizens communication.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The Dec. 15, 2021, ICRC meeting minutes were approved unanimously without objection.

2. NEW BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items:

A. Update on county redistricting from Gretchen Nagy, Travis County Voter Registration Director

Nagy gave an update on the shortened timeframe for Travis County redistricting

B. Discussion of Retention of ICRC Records and Documents: City Clerk Eric Stene, Records and Information Management Officer (CRM)

Stene explained the ICRC should turn over documents to their staff liaison for the city's records retention of documents and that those records will be kept for 20 years (2042).

Commissioners agreed to forward all documents to administrative manager by Feb. 2, 2022.

C. Update on Roadmap/Timeline

Granados gave an update on the 2031 ICRC Roadmap/Timeline.

D. Discussion on creating criteria for staff to act upon future annexations

Commissioners discussed creating criteria for city staff to act upon future annexations and agreed that all future annexations would be handled directly by the commission.

- E. Updates from Working Groups/Subcommittees
 - 1) Social Media/Press Release Working Group

Commissioner Falcon gave an update.

2) Advertising/Website Working Group

Commissioner Yee gave an update on website progress and advertising the ICRC map in 2022.

3) Finance Subcommittee

Vice Chair Gonzalez explained that \$100,000 of the \$150,000 budget (67%) for fiscal year 2022 had been spent.

4) Final Report Subcommittee

Commissioner Blank had no update.

F. Housekeeping

2. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items:

A. Approve and sign final report

On Commissioner Schneider's motion and Commissioner Gonzalez's second, the ICRC unanimously approved and adopted the 2021 ICRC Final Report as submitted.

B. Approve new contract for administrative manager

Commissioners approved new letter of engagement for Administrative Manager to an hourly rate of \$50 an hour from Jan. 1, 2022, to June 30, 2022.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

• No further business

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Puentes adjourned the meeting at 7:40 p.m. with no objections.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Matt Dugan at the Housing and Planning Department, at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, please contact Matt Dugan at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov or Lisa Rodriguez at 512-974-3119 and lisa.rodriguez@austintexas.gov.

These minutes were unanimously approved, without objection, at the April 6, 2020, meeting.