

## Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) April 6, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

# Permitting and Development Center (PDC); Event Center 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr., Room 1401-02 Austin, TX 78752

Some members of the ICRC may be participating by video conference.

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely by telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once, either in-person or remotely, and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation. To register, call or email the board liaison at 512-974-7665 or Matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov

## **CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

Prabhu Kannan Shaina Kambo
Errol Hardin Sara Inés Calderón
Eugene Schneider Selina Yee
Erin Dempsey Christina Puentes, Chair
Luis Gonzalez, Vice-Chair Joshua Blank
Dr. Sterling Lands Camellia Falcon

Members in Attendance	Staff In Attendance
Christina Puentes, Chair	Matthew Dugan, City's Planning Manager
Luis Gonzalez, Vice Chair	
Joshua Blank	
Sara Inés Calderón	
Erin Dempsey	
Camellia Falcon	
Errol Hardin	
Shaina Kambo	
Eugene Schneider	

## **MINUTES**

Meeting Goals: Identify top three candidates to fill commission vacancy, identify future 2022 meeting date

## **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Puentes called the meeting to order at 6:16 p.m. with 9 members present.

## **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

No members of the public signed up to speak.

#### 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The Jan. 19, 2022, ICRC meeting minutes were approved unanimously with correction to "Unfinished Business."

## 2. NEW BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items:

A. Identify top three candidates to replace open chair on commission

On Commissioner Blank's motion and Commissioner Schneider's second, the motion to approve the list of candidates in this order: John McKiernan-Gonzalez, Nancy Palma, Patty Prado, Isa Boonto-Zarifis, Margaret Hill and Marisol McDaniel failed without unanimously consent.

On Commissioner Blank's motion and Commissioner Calderon's second, the ICRC unanimously approved and adopted the motion to approve the list of candidates of the top three candidates in this order: John McKiernan-Gonzalez, Nancy Palma and Patty Prado.

At the break, John McKiernan-Gonzalez was called and accepted the position on the ICRC to replace Commissioner Hoang Le.

Nancy Palma was called during the break, and the ICRC will wait to hear back from Palma.

Legal counsel was also consulted during the break and stated Commissioner Schneider will continue to serve as a representative of District 6 until the remainder of his term of service.

B. Identify future 2022 meeting date re: action on potential annexations and dis annexations

The ICRC selected June 29, 2022 at 6 p.m. as the next meeting date for the commission date.

#### C. UT OLLI NOVA discussion

Commissioner Schneider invited commissioners to the UT OLLI NOVA discussion about redistricting on April 13, 2022, at 1:00p.m. at the UT Thompson Conference Center.

## D. Housekeeping

City Planning Manager Dugan said Travis County has updated ICRC maps and shapefiles.

Commissioner Falcon suggested administrative manager check city emails.

#### 3. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items:

A. Update on website

Chair Puentes updated commissioners on ICRC website that is being developed by the City of Austin.

Chair Puentes explained that the 2021 Final Report is available on the city's ICRC page in English, Spanish, Chinese and Vietnamese.

B. Discussion of annexations and dis annexations

## **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

- Website
- *Annexations and dis annexations*

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Puentes adjourned the meeting at 7:08 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Matt Dugan at the Housing and Planning Department, at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, please contact Matt Dugan at 512-974-7665 and <a href="matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov">matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov</a> or Lisa Rodriguez at 512-974-3119 and <a href="matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov">lisa.rodriguez@austintexas.gov</a>.

These minutes were approved unanimously, without objection, at the June 29, 2022, meeting.