

HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION Regular Meeting Minutes

Monday, June 27, 2022 5:30 p.m. – Adjournment

Austin City Hall, Board & Commission Room, 1101 301 West 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701

Commissioners in Attendance: Chair Gary Brown, Kimberly Brienzi, Commissioners in Attendance Remotely: Vice Chair Isabel Casas, Sareta Davis, Malenie Arche, Idona Griffith Commissioners Absent: Jared Breckenridge, Kristian Caballero, Commissioners with approved absent waiver: Jamarr Brown

Alicia Weigel remotely joined at 4:50 p.m.

Staff in Attendance: Damian Pantoja

Start: 5:41 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

No Public Communication

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Davis made a motion to approve the minutes from the Human Rights Commission regular meeting of May 23, 2022. Commissioner Brienzi seconded the motion. The motion passed on a vote of 6-0 with Commissioners Breckenridge, Caballero, Weigel and J. Brown absent.

NEW BUSINESS

- a. Discussion A Food Plan will set clear Goals and Strategies to move toward a more equitable, sustainable & resilient food system and provide a coordinating structure for all food related initiatives. Presentation by the Office of Sustainability.
- b. Discussion and review the letter regarding the preservation of the 4th street district. 4th street area did not receive historic zoning for protection. Move to adopt this letter for City Council to review. (Davis, Griffith) 6-0

OLD BUSINESS

(BOARD NAME) MEETING MINUTES

a. Discussion of Commission goals for 2021-2022 in the following priority areas of concern:

i. Institutional Equity

No Report

ii. Environment & Land Use

No Report

iii. Health Access & Nutrition

No Report

iv. Autonomy & Human Rights

No Report

Special meeting: No update on the report from HR/Legal

Commissioner Davis made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:33pm; Commissioner Griffin seconded the motion. The motion passed on a vote of 6-0 with Commissioners Breckenridge, J. Brown, and Caballero absent.

The minutes were approved at the Sept 26, 2022 meeting on motion by I. Griffith and second by I. Smith. 8-0 with the following commissioners absent: J. Brown, M. Areche, and S. Davis