PS Salary Comp

Salary Year 1
Salary Year 5
Salary Year 10

Besides high school
graduation (or equivalent),
are there any other
requirements for hiring?

Average age of last cadet clas

EMS AFD
51,480
56,207

64,373

eMalid Texas
Class “C” Driver
License.
e[fexas
Department of
State Health
Services
certification as
an Emergency
Medical
Technician-Basic
(EMT-B) or
higher.
eRustin-Travis
County OMD
Credentialed at
the Emergency
Medical
Technician-Basic
(EMT-B/PL2)
level within nine
(9) months from
the date of hire.
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60,053
71,125
78,414

APD EMS Vs APD
62,895 22%
77,900 39%
83,351 29%
AVG 30%

Will be 20.5 years
of age by academy
start date.
Must not be older
than 45 years of
age
Must have a valid
driver’s license
Must be a U.S.
citizen (by birth or
naturalized)
Must read, write,
and speak English
Texas Class C DL
Completion of
police academy
training including
12 weeks on the
job training. (8
weeks for
transitional
Officer.)
Police Officer Cert.
Texas Commission
for Law
Enforcement
(TCOLE)
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In order to fulfill

requirements for promotion,

are getting these

requirements paid time? EX.
To promote to Clinical
Specialist in EMS, are medics
paid to go to paramedic
school? In order to be a
driver in AFD, are firefighters
paid to be in the class?

Employees are
not paid to
participate in
the Paramedic
Certification
Program.
Contract
language states
in part,
“Participation in
the Certification
Program is
voluntary and
shall not be
counted as on-
duty regular
hours. A
participating
Medic shall not
be compensated
for time spent
outside of on-
duty regular
work hours in
connection with
the Certification
Program.”

To take initial
written
promotional exam
to Corporal /
Detective must
have 4 years with
APD. Paid for time
taking exam. Each
subsequent
promotional exam
is after 2 years in
grade with a
written exam and
assessment center



Years of service required to
be eligible for pension

Pension Multiplier

Hours in work week

before
1/1/2012)

*Age 62*

*Age 55 with 20
years of service
credit

o3 years of
service credit
regardless of
age

Group B (hired
on or after
1/1/2012)
oRlested at 5
years

*Age 65 with 5
years of service
credit

*Age 62 with 30
years of service
credit

*Age 55 with 10
years of service
credit (early
retirement with
reduced
benefits)

Group A—-3%

Group B—-2.5%

At the age of 50
with at least 10
years of service
credit in the Fund
OR

Have at least 25
years of service
credit in the Fund,
regardless of your
age

OR

Early Retirement:
Have (1) reached
the age of 45 and
have at least 10
years of service
credit in the Fund
OR

Early Retirement:
Have at least 20
years of service
credit in the Fund,
regardless of age.

Hired before
12/31/2021: Age
62, Age 55 with 20
years creditable
service, Any age
with 23 years
creditable service.
Hired after
1/1/2022: Age 62,
Age 50 with 25
years credible
service.

Hired before
12/31/2021:3.2%
Hired after

3.30% 1/1/2022: 2.5%

40 Staff/53

42 Operations
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Categories of available soft pay (please add as many lines as necessary)

Austin Medics

ok wnN P

Education Incentive Pay — $220/month for Bachelor’s; $300/month for Master’s
Special Operations Qualified Pay — $175/month
Communications Aeromedical Communications Specialist (ACS) Pay — $150/month
Bilingual Translation Pay — $150/month
Service Incentive Pay — same as civilian, based on years of service
Shift Differential — $100/month for 12-hour night shift; $100/month for 12-hour shift (some employ



7. Higher Class Pay — pay for work performed in next higher classification when temporarily assigned t
8. Certification Incentive — $200/month for DSHS LP or EMT-P
Austin Firefighters:
1.
2.
3.
4,
Austin Police:
1.

2.
3.
4



EMS Vs AFD AFD Vs APD

17% 5%
27% 10%
22% 6%

AVG 22% AVG 7%






yees may qualify for both)



»y the Chief or designee
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