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  ATCEMS  AFD  APD 

 
Salary year 1 

$  $  $  62,895 

 
Salary year 5 

$  $  $ 77,900 

 
Salary year 10 

$  $  $ 83,351 

 
Besides high school 
graduation (or 
equivalent), are there 
any other equirements 
for hiring? 
 

    Will be 20.5 years of 
age by academy start 
date. 
Must not be older than 
45 years of age  
Must have a valid 
driver’s license 
Must be a U.S. citizen 
(by birth or 
naturalized) 
Must read, write, and 
speak English Texas 
Class C DL 
Completion of police 
academy training 
including 12 weeks on 
the job training. (8 
weeks for transitional 
Officer.) 
Police Officer Cert. 
Texas Commission for 
Law Enforcement 
(TCOLE)  

 
Average age of last 
cadet class 
 

    29 



 
In order to fulfill 
requirements for 
promotion, are getting 
these requirements 
paid time? EX. To 
promote to Clinical 
Specialist in EMS, are 
medics paid to go to 
paramedic school? In 
order to be a driver in 
AFD, are firefighters 
paid to be in the class? 
 

    To take initial written 
promotional exam to 
Corporal / Detective 
must have 4 years with 
APD.  Paid for time 
taking exam.  Each 
subsequent 
promotional exam is 
after 2 years in grade 
with a written exam 
and assessment center. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Years of service 
required to be eligible 
for pension  
 

    Hired before 
12/31/2021: Age 62, 
Age 55 with 20 years 
creditable service, Any 
age with 23 years 
creditable service. 
Hired after 1/1/2022: 
Age 62, Age 50 with 25 
years credible service. 

 
Pension multiplier 

    Hired before 
12/31/2021: 3.2% 
Hired after 1/1/2022: 
2.5% 

 
Hours in work week 

    40 

 
 
Categories of available soft pay (please add as many lines as necessary) 
 
Austin Medics 

1.  
2.  
3.  
4.  



Austin Firefighters: 
1.  
2.  
3.  
4.  

Austin Police: 
1. Field Training ‐ $175.00/month 
2. Education Stipends –  

a. Police Certificates 
i. Intermediate ‐ $50/month 
ii. Advanced ‐ $100/month 
iii. Master ‐ $150/month 

b. Degree/College work 
i. 60+ hrs/Associate – $100/month 
ii. Bachelor – $220/month 
iii. Masters ‐ $300/month 

3. Clothing Allowance ‐ $500/year (for certain ranks / assignments only)  
4. Shift Differentials –  

a. $300/month (Officer, Det/Cpl, Sgt) 
b. $125/month (Lt) 

5. Mental Health Pay ‐ $175.00/month 
6. Bilingual Pay ‐ $175.00/month 

 


