RESOLUTION NO. 20221121-001

WHEREAS, on November 8, 2022, a general municipal election was held for the purpose of electing the City Mayor and City Council Members (single member districts) for District 1, District 3, District 5, District 8, and District 9; and on the same date a special election was held to present to the voters one proposed bond proposition; voters were given the option of voting "for" or "against" the bond proposition; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the general election have been made to the Council and show that the votes for City Mayor and City Council Members were cast as follows:

City Mayor

Phil Campero Brual	7,340	
Celia Israel	122,377	
Kirk Watson	106,883	
Anthony Bradshaw	7,137	
Jennifer Virden	56,313	
Gary S. Spellman	5,815	
<u>City Council Member District 1</u>		
Misael D. Ramos	6,065	
Clinton Rarey	2,519	

Melonie House-Dixon	2,649	
Natasha Harper-Madison	12,773	
<u>City Council Member District 3</u>		
José Velásquez	7,674	
Daniela Silva	7,260	
Gavino Fernandez, Jr.	1,078	
José Noé Elías	2,318	
Yvonne Weldon	1,947	
Esala Wueschner	812	
City Council Member District 5		

City Council Member District 5

Ryan Alter	7,933
Bill Welch	4,861
Ken Craig	6,274
Stephanie Bazan	9,600
Aaron Velazquez Webman	3,295
Brian Anderson II	796

City Council Member District 8

Paige Ellis20,491

Richard Smith	10,066	
Antonio D. Ross	1,590	
Kimberly P. Hawkins	3,311	
<u>City Council Member District 9</u>		
Zena Mitchell	1,555	
Zohaib "Zo" Qadri	10,870	
Greg Smith	3,162	
Joah Spearman	1,951	
Kym Olson	1,031	
Ben Leffler	7,677	
Linda Guerrero	8,066	
Tom Wald	1,878	

WHEREAS, of the two candidates who received the highest number of votes cast for the office of Mayor, those being Celia Israel and Kirk Watson, neither candidate received a majority of all votes cast for Mayor; and

WHEREAS, Natasha Harper-Madison received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 1; and

WHEREAS, of the two candidates who received the highest number of votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 3, those being José

Velásquez and Daniela Silva, neither candidate received a majority of all votes cast for City Council Member District 3; and

WHEREAS, of the two candidates who received the highest number of votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 5, those being Ryan Alter and Stephanie Bazan, neither candidate received a majority of all votes cast for City Council Member District 5; and

WHEREAS, Paige Ellis received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 8; and

WHEREAS, of the two candidates who received the highest number of votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 9, those being Zohaib "Zo" Qadri and Linda Guerrero, neither candidate received a majority of all votes cast for City Council Member District 9; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the special election have been made to the Council and show that the votes for and against the propositions were cast as follows:

<u>Proposition A</u>	
For	223,505
Against	91,707

WHEREAS, a majority of all votes cast in the special election were cast for Proposition A; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN:

The Council finds that all of the recitals contained in this resolution are true and adopts them as findings of fact by this governing body; and

The Council finds that the results of the general election as tabulated and canvassed reflect the votes cast at the election; and

The Council accepts and approves the returns for the general election, as tabulated and received and canvassed, and declares that the following persons are declared elected and may qualify for the office indicated for terms that begin January 6, 2023:

City Council Member District 1	Natasha Harper-Madison
City Council Member District 8	Paige Ellis; and

In order to elect a Mayor and City Council Members for Districts 3, 5, and 9, the City Council shall order a runoff election as soon as is practicable and no later than the fifth day after this canvass as required by state law (Texas Election Code § 2.024).

The Council finds that the results of the special election as tabulated and canvassed reflect the votes cast at the election; and

The Council accepts and approves the returns for the special election, as tabulated and received and canvassed, and declares that Proposition A is adopted.

With this canvass, Council is making official the precinct returns received from the counties.

ADOPTED: Normbur 21, Jograttest:

Myrna Rios City Clerk

Page 5 of 5