Bicycle Advisory Council (BAC) Meeting Minutes Tuesday October 18th, 2022 - 6:00

901 SOUTH MOPAC EXPRESSWAY, AUSTIN, TEXAS (Building 5, Suite 300)

Full Members in Attendance:

Curtis Rogers Drake Hampton Les Case Meghan Otoupalik

Tommy Eden Ruben Sanchez

Christopher Heathcott

Full Members Absent:

Ali Sobhani Priya Patel

Kathryn johanson Rebecca Zandstein

Kelly Braun

Alternate Members in Attendance:

Lansing Pugh **Gregory Go Russell Taylor**

Spencer Schumacher

Zuzana Baranova

Alternate Members Absent:

Beth Donnelly Cameron Lyman Kathryn Flowers

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chair Curtis Rogers.

- 1. Approval of previous meeting minutes: The September 15th, 2022 BAC meeting minutes were approved, as amended, on a 7-0 vote with Sobhani, Johanson, Braun, Patel and Zandstein absent.
- 2. Traffic fatalities reported since previous BAC meeting: Vice Chair Les Case read aloud the names of people whose deaths due to traffic crashes on Austin streets were reported since the BAC last met: Melinda Gonzalez, Sandra K Nielson, Jiaxing Chang, Shala Morgan, Erik Hernandez, Ian Lewis, Unidentified motorist, unidentified pedestrian, two unidentified motorist
- 3. Member Elections: Each BAC candidate present was given one minute to introduce themselves and provide a statement of interest. Secret ballot voting process was

facilitated by staff in accordance to BAC bylaws. Election results were as follows:

- a. Elected Full Members: Spencer Schumacher and Russell Taylor
- Elected Alternate Members: Nicole Mwei, Joshua Colllier, Sara Boza, Jeff Seiden, Rhys Rea- Tucker, Faith Reed, Alejandro de la Vega and Cynthia Fedor
- c. 2022-2023 Roster: Leslie Case (Chair), Spencer Schumacher (Vice-Chair), Kathryn Johanson, Christopher Heathcott, Drake Hampton, Ruben Sanchez, Ali Sobhani, Curtis Rogers, Russell Taylor, Beth Donnelly, Lansing Puch, Zuzana Baranova, Nicole Mwei, Joshua Collier, Sara Boza, Jeff Seiden, Rhys Rea-Tucker, Faith Reed, Alejandro de la Vega, Cynthia Fedor
- **4. Update on I-35 Expansion Project –** Texas Department of Transportation staff Tommy Abrego <u>presented</u> on I-35 Expansion Updates:
- **5. Updates and Announcements:** General updates given on other board and commissions in the city of Austin

Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m. by Chair Curtis Rogers

The October 18th, 2022 meeting minutes were approved on this the 7th day of November 2022 on Chair Rogers motion, Vice Chair Case second on 7-0 vote with Sobhani, Johanson, Braun, Patel and Zandstein absent.