

# Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a>

REGULAR MEETING
MINUTES
Wednesday – February 8<sup>th</sup>, 2023 – 6:30PM
City Hall – Boards and Commissions – Room 1101
301 W. 2<sup>nd</sup> Street – Austin, TX 78701

Please go to <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm">http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm</a> for backup materials associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.">http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.</a>

The Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission convened in a REGULAR meeting on Wednesday, February 8th, 2023, at 301 W. 2<sup>nd</sup> St. in Austin, Texas.

#### **Current Commission Members**

Vacant - Mayor Kirk Watson
Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1
Steven Apodaca - Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2
Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member José Velásquez, District 3
Cristina Garza - Council Member José "Chito" Vela, District 4
Dave Floyd - Council Member Ryan Alter, District 5
Vacant - Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, District 6
Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Vacant - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8
Nicole Thompson - Council Member Zohaib "Zo" Qadri, District 9
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

#### **Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:**

Nehemiah Pitts III, Chair Steven Apodaca, Vice Chair Dave Floyd Cristina Garza

## **Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:**

Maxine Eliand Sumit DasGupta Nicole Thompson Malcolm Yeatts

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Pitts called the Community Technology and Telecommunications Meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

## **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No members of the public were signed up to speak.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

1. Approve the minutes of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Regular meeting on January 11<sup>th</sup>, 2023.

The minutes from the meeting of (1/11/2023) were approved on Commissioner Garza's motion, Commissioner DasGupta's second on a 8-0-0 vote.

#### **STAFF BRIEFINGS**

- 2. Presentation on internet access research being done by Travis County and Austin (Chloe Mun, Reyda Taylor, Jesse Rodriguez)
- 3. Regulatory update from Telecommunications and Regulatory Affairs (Khotan Harmon, Senior Program Manager)

#### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

4. Grant for Technology Opportunities Program 2023 Review Panel Selection (Commission Discussion and Action)

Motion to approve 2023 GTOPs review panel list made by Chair Pitts, seconded by Commissioner Garza, passed on a vote of 7-0-0.

5. FY 24 Commission Budget Priorities (Commission Discussion and Action)

Chair Pitts suggested that the commission discuss potential uses of a budget such as the Travis County survey, funding the community challenge process for internet speed maps, and permitting.

Commissioner DasGupta suggested funding a best-in-class study on the permitting process.

6. Community City Council Action Database (Commission Discussion and Action)
Commissioner Yeatts suggested implementing a resolution tracker database for the sake of transparency.

Commission suggested pushing this item to a future agenda until amendments could be made to the resolution.

7. Discussion of the Good Governance Resolution (Commission Discussion and Action)

Commission suggested pushing this item to a future agenda until amendments could be made to the resolution.

# **WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES**

8. Update from Digital Inclusion, Civic Engagement, and Strategic Technology and Telecom Policy Working Group

The commission did not discuss this item.

9. Update from Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group

Vice Chair Apodaca claims that the group is working on a final report of the group's accomplishments.

10. Update from Technology, Infrastructure, and Innovation Working Group

Commissioner Floyd noted the group's continued discussion on the final report, the Tablature item, and broadband buildout.

#### **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

- FY 24 Commission Budget Priorities (Commission Discussion and Action)
- GTOPs 2023 Applicant Update to the Commission (Staff Briefing)

# Motion to adjourn by Chair Pitts, seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca, passed on a vote of 7-0-1 at 9:31 pm. Commissioner Thompson was absent.

The minutes were approved at the 3/8/2023 meeting on Commissioner Thompson's motion, Chair Pitts' second, on a 6-0-0 vote.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with

wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Dan Martinez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-3510, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a> or contact Dan Martinez at dan.martinez@austintexas.gov

Posting Submitted by: Dan Martinez, Business Process Specialist, Friday, February 24th, 2023.