

# Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission April 19, 2023 at 6:00 PM Permitting And Development Center, Events Center, Room 1405 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive Austin, Texas 78752

Some members of the Environmental Commission will be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live">http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</a>

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone.

To register to speak remotely, call or email Elizabeth Funk, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 568-2244, Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov, no later than noon, the day before the meeting. The following information is required: speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, email address and telephone number (must be the same number that will be used to call into the meeting).

#### **CURRENT COMMISSIONERS:**

Haris Qureshi Jennifer Bristol, Secretary Rachel Scott Kevin Ramberg, Chair

Pam Thompson David Sullivan Melinda Schiera Richard Brimer

Hanna Coffer Perry Bedford, Vice-Chair

Colin Nickells

#### **AGENDA**

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

#### **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

1. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular Meeting on April 5, 2023 (5 minutes)

### **ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER UPDATES**

2. Thank Commissioner Thompson for her eight years of service to the Environmental Commission – Katie Coyne, Environmental Officer (5 minutes)

## **STAFF BRIEFING**

3. Staff briefing regarding AUS West Jet Fuel Storage Facility Overview—Kane Carpenter, P.G., Environmental Manager, AUS (30 minutes)

# **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

- 4. Election of Environmental Commission Officers for May 1, 2023 through April 30, 2024 term (10 minutes)
- 5. Discuss committee membership (5 minutes)
- 6. Approve an amendment to Part 81 of Ordinance 20131017-046, also known as the Watershed Protection Ordinance (WPO), clarifying that the Riparian Zone Mitigation Fund (RZMF) may be used for restoration Ana Gonzalez, Division, Watershed Protection Department (30 minutes)

## **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

- 7. Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Pam Thompson, Rachel Scott, and Colin Nickells
- 8. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
- 9. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee Jennifer Bristol
- 10. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Pam Thompson, Rachel Scott, Perry Bedford, and Haris Qureshi
- 11. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board VACANT

#### **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

## **ADJOURNMENT**

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call **Elizabeth Funk**, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-568-2244, Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov; for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Elizabeth Funk**, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-568-2244, <u>Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov</u>.