

Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission May 3rd, 2023 at 6:00 PM Permitting And Development Center, Events Center, Room 1405 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive Austin, Texas 78752

Some members of the Environmental Commission will be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone.

To register to speak remotely, call or email Elizabeth Funk, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 568-2244, Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov, no later than noon, the day before the meeting. The following information is required: speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, email address and telephone number (must be the same number that will be used to call into the meeting).

CURRENT COMMISSIONERS:

Haris Qureshi Jennifer Bristol, Secretary
Rachel Scott Kevin Ramberg, Chair
Mariana Krueger David Sullivan
Melinda Schiera Richard Brimer

Hanna Cofer VACANT, Vice-Chair

Colin Nickells

AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular Meeting on April 19, 2023 (5 minutes)

ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- 2. New Environmental Commission member welcome and introduction (5 minutes)
- 3. Election of the Environmental Commission Vice Chair for May 1, 2023 through April 30, 2024 term (10 minutes)

PUBLIC HEARINGS

4. **Name**: Ledgestone Wastewater Service Extension Request #5650

Applicant: Vito Trupiano, P.E., Endeavor Real Estate Group

Location: 9209 Ledgestone Terrace, Austin, TX 78737

Council District: Austin 2-Mile Extraterritorial Jurisdiction

Staff: Kaela Champlin, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection

Department

Watershed: Slaughter Creek Watershed, Barton Springs Zone, Edwards Aquifer

Contributing Zone, Drinking Water Protection Zone

Request: Water Service Extension

Staff Recommendation: Staff recommends approval of the water service extension

(30 minutes)

5. Name: 8921 US Hwy 290 West Wastewater Service Extension Request #5672

Applicant: Vito Trupiano, P.E. Endeavor Real Estate Group

Location: 8921 US 290 Hwy West, Austin, Texas 78737

Council District: Austin 2-Mile Extraterritorial Jurisdiction

Staff: Kaela Champlin, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection

Department

Watershed: Slaughter Creek Watershed, Barton Springs Zone, Edwards Aquifer

Contributing Zone, Drinking Water Protection Zone

Request: Water Service Extension

Staff Recommendation: Staff recommends approval of the water service extension

(30 minutes)

6. Consider and make a recommendation for a site-specific amendment to City Code Section 25-8-514 (Pollution Prevention Required) of the Save Our Springs Initiative, and variances to City Code Section 25-8-364 (Floodplain Modification) and Section 25-8-641 (Removal Prohibited) relating to the removal of a heritage tree, and waiving requirements of City Code Section 25-8-41 (Land Use Commission Variances) to allow construction of the Slaughter Lane Improvement Project from Loop 1 (MoPac) to 650 feet east of Brodie Lane, located at 5015 ½ West Slaughter Lane (C20-2022-019) – Leslie Lilly, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection, Naomi Rotramel, City Arborist, Development Services Department, and Randy Harvey, Capitol Program Consultant, Corridor Program Office (30 minutes)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

7. Discussion and possible action on facilitating an informal working relationship between the Environmental Commission and Airport Advisory Board – Requested and presented by Environmental Commission member Richard Brimer (10 minutes)

COMMITTEE REPORTS

- 8. Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Colin Nickells, Rachel Scott, and Melinda Schiera
- 9. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
- 10. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee Jennifer Bristol
- 11. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Perry Bedford, Haris Qureshi, Kevin Ramberg, and Rachel Scott,
- 12. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board David Sullivan

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call **Elizabeth Funk**, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-568-2244, Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov; for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Elizabeth Funk**, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-568-2244, <u>Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov</u>.