

Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

REGULAR MEETING
MINUTES
Wednesday – March 8th, 2023 – 6:30PM
City Hall – Boards and Commissions – Room 1101
301 W. 2nd Street – Austin, TX 78701

Please go to http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards_commissions/meetings/10_1.htm for backup materials associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.

The Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission convened in a REGULAR meeting on Wednesday, March 8th, 2023, at 301 W. 2nd St. in Austin, Texas.

Current Commission Members

Vacant - Mayor Kirk Watson
Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1
Steven Apodaca - Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2
Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member José Velásquez, District 3
Cristina Garza - Council Member José "Chito" Vela, District 4
Dave Floyd - Council Member Ryan Alter, District 5
Vacant - Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, District 6
Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Amarige Azzam - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8
Nicole Thompson - Council Member Zohaib "Zo" Qadri, District 9
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:

Nehemiah Pitts III, Chair Steven Apodaca, Vice Chair Cristina Garza

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:

Maxine Eliand Dave Floyd Nicole Thompson Malcolm Yeatts

Board Members/Commissioners Not in Attendance:

Amarige Azzam Sumit DasGupta

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Pitts called the Community Technology and Telecommunications Meeting to order at 6:36 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No members of the public were signed up to speak.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Regular meeting on March 8th, 2023

The minutes from the meeting of (2/8/2023) were approved on Commissioner Thompson's motion, Chair Pitts' second on a 6-0-0 vote. Commissioners DasGupta, Garza, and Azzam were not present for the vote.

STAFF BRIEFINGS

2. Grant for Technology Opportunities Program – Brief update on applications submitted (Dan Martinez, Business Process Specialist – Telecommunications and Regulatory Affairs)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

3. Discussion of the Good Governance Resolution (Discussion and Possible Action)

Motion to approve the Good Governance Resolution made by Chair Pitts, seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca. Passed on a vote of 7-0-0.

4. FY 24 Commission Budget Priorities (Commission Discussion and Action)

The Commission made edits to clarify language in the document as well as differentiating the document into two separate recommendations.

Motion to approve the 2023 Affordability Connectivity Program Awareness

Campaign recommendation made by Chair Pitts and seconded by Commissioner

Garza. Passed on a vote of 7-0-0.

Motion to approve the 2024 Affordability Connectivity Program Awareness Campaign recommendation made by Chair Pitts and seconded by Commissioner Garza. Passed on a vote of 7-0-0.

5. National Telecommunications Information Administration (NTIA) – Digital Equity Act of 2021 – Request for Comments

The Commission made edits to clarify language in the document as well as differentiating the document into two separate recommendations.

Motion to approve the 2023 Digital Inclusion Town Hall Listening Session recommendation made by Chair Pitts and seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca. Passed on a vote of 7-0-0.

Motion to approve the 2024 Digital Inclusion Town Hall Listening Session recommendation made by Chair Pitts and seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca. Passed on a vote of 7-0-0.

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

6. Update from Digital Inclusion, Civic Engagement, and Strategic Technology and Telecom Policy Working Group

Chair Pitts gave a summary of his time at the National Digital Inclusion Alliance conference. Pitts also informed the council of an opportunity to engage the community. Chair Pitts also had resources from this conference to share with the rest of the council.

The working group has been focused on addressing coverage map challenges.

7. Update from the Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group

The working group will soon report on individual items that will be assigned in the future.

Chair Pitts is waiting on responses to questions he has posed to Austin Police Department.

8. Update from Technology, Infrastructure, and Innovation Working Group

The working group is not assigning new roles since many council members will be terming out soon. The working group is awaiting information from ISPs in order to make substantial decisions on infrastructure in underserved neighborhoods.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- Review and Approval of GTOPs 2023 Grant Awardees
- Briefing by the Housing and Planning Department on their 2023 Action Plan

ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn by Chair Pitts, seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca, passed on a vote of 7-0-0 at 9:36 pm.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Dan Martinez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-3510, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc or contact Dan Martinez at dan.martinez@austintexas.gov