

#### JOINT SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE HYBRID MEETING FORMAT May 24<sup>th</sup>, 2023 at 6pm Permitting and Development Center – Room 1401/1402 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr, Austin, TX 78752 Some members of the Committee may be participating by videoconference

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone. To register to speak remotely, call or email Zach Baumer at (zach.baumer@austintexas.gov or 415-694-3111).

#### CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:

Diana Wheeler, Acting Chair (Urban Transportation Commission) Charlotte Davis (Resource Mgmt. Commission) Richard Brimer (Environmental Commission) Melissa Rothrock (Zero Waste Advisory Commission) Vacant (Community Development Commission) Frances Deviney (Austin Travis County Food Policy Board) Vacant (Water & Wastewater Commission) Kelsey Hitchingham (Economic Prosperity Commission) Vacant (Parks & Recreation Board) Jon Salinas (Design Commission) Vacant (City Council) Randall Chapman (Electric Utility Commission) Alice Woods (Planning Commission) Rodrigo Leal (Mayor's Representative) Anna Scott (Mayor's Representative) Heather Houser (Mayor's Representative) Yureisly Suarez (Mayor's Representative) Christopher Campbell (Mayor's Representative)

For more information, please visit: <u>www.austintexas.gov/jsc</u>

# AGENDA

## CALL TO ORDER

#### PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

- 1. Approval of minutes from the April 26<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Joint Sustainability Committee.
- 2. JSC Officer Elections for the 2023-2024 Term (Discussion and/or Possible Action).
- 3. Creation of JSC working groups to help advance implementation of the Austin Climate Equity Plan and updates from previously informal working groups (Discussion and/or Possible Action).
- 4. Updates on the Inflation Reduction Act Coordinated Grant Approach Rohan Lilauwala, Office of Sustainability (Discussion and/or Possible Action).
- 5. Climate Ambassadors Overview, Projects, and Lessons Learned Sydnee Landry, Office of Sustainability (Discussion and/or Possible Action).
- 6. City of Austin Support for Energy Innovation and the Fossil Fuel Non-Proliferation Treaty (Discussion and/or Possible Action).

#### **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Zach Baumer at the Office of Sustainability at 415-694-3111, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Joint Sustainability Committee, please call or email Zach Baumer at (zach.baumer@austintexas.gov or 415-694-3111).