

# COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING DRAFT MINUTES MAY 10, 2023

The COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION convened in a REGULAR MEETING on MAY 10, 2023, at City Hall Boards and Commissions Room 1101, 301 West 2<sup>nd</sup> Street, in Austin, Texas. Some members of the commission participated by video conference.

# **CALL TO ORDER**

Commissioner Tolliver called the meeting to order at 6:41pm with members present.

#### **Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:**

Cheryl Thompson Michael Tolliver Cynthis Jaso Jose Noe Elias Bertha Delgado (Arrived late at 7:05pm)

#### **Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:**

Julia Woods Miriam Garcia Heidi Sloan Ike Urquhart

#### **Staff Members in Attendance**

Letitia Brown Ed Blake Ruben Aleman

### **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

No public speakers.

#### **ELECTIONS**

1. CDC annual Officer elections. Current officer terms will expire at the end of April with new terms beginning May 1, 2023.

Commissioner Thompson was nominated to serve as the Chair for the Community Development Commission by Commissioner Elias, Commissioner Garcia's second, in an 8-0 vote with no objections.

Commissioner Tolliver nominated himself to serve as the Vice Chair for the Community Development Commission, Commissioner Jaso's second, with 2-0-1 votes. Chair Thompson abstained.

Commissioner Elias nominated himself to serve as the Vice Chair for the Community Development Commission, Commissioner Sloan's second, with 5-0-1 votes. Chair Thompson abstained.

Commissioner Elias was elected chair with a 5-0-1 vote, Chair Thompson abstained.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

2. Approve the April 11, 2023, Community Development Commission meeting minutes.

The minutes from the meeting of April 11, 2023, were approved on Commissioner Sloan's motion, Commissioner Urquhart's second, on a 9-0 vote.

#### **STAFF BRIEFINGS**

3. Presentation on the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) (Jill Smith, Neighborhood Services Unit, Austin Public Health)

Jill Smith presented.

4. Briefing on the draft Fiscal Year 2023-2024 Action Plan public comment period. (Chris Duran)

Chris Duran presented.

### **PUBLIC HEARING**

5. Conduct a public hearing to receive public comment on the draft Fiscal Year 2023-2024 Action Plan.

No members of the public signed up to speak. Chris Duran and Mandy DeMayo from the Housing Department gave a briefing on the public hearing.

#### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

6. Appoint a representative and an alternate representative from the Community Development Commission to the Joint Sustainability Committee. (Amanda Mortl)

Amanda Mortl with the Office of Sustainability Department spoke and asked for volunteers to serve on the Joint Sustainability Committee (JSC). Commissioner Delgado volunteered to be primary representative for the JSC, and Commissioner Garcia volunteered to be the alternate representative.

7. Appoint two representatives to the Housing Investment Review Committee (HIRC) (James May)

Mandy DeMayo with the Housing Department spoke on the Housing Investment Review Committee (HIRC). Commissioner Urquhart volunteered to be primary representative for HIRC, and Commissioner Jaso volunteered to be the alternate representative.

8. Appoint a representative and an alternate to the South-Central Waterfront Advisory Board (SCWAB)

Commissioner Woods volunteered to be the representative for the South-Central Waterfront Advisory Board (SCWAB). Alternate representative will be chosen at the next CDC meeting on June 13, 2023.

# **WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES**

9. Update from the Austin Transit Partnership (ATP) Community Advisory Committee (Commissioner Elias)

Commissioner Elias spoke on this item.

### **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

Update from the Housing Authority of the City of Austin (HACA).

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Thompson adjourned the meeting at 8:12pm with no objections.