

Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</u>

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES *Wednesday –April 12th, 2023 – 6:30PM City Hall – Boards and Commissions – Room 1101 301 W. 2nd Street – Austin, TX 78701*

Please go to <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards_commissions/meetings/10_1.htm</u> for backup materials associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.

The Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission convened in a REGULAR meeting on Wednesday, April 12th, 2023, at 301 W. 2nd St. in Austin, Texas.

Current Commission Members

Vacant - Mayor Kirk Watson Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1 Steven Apodaca – Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2 Brianna Smith - Council Member José Velásquez, District 3 Cristina Garza - Council Member José "Chito" Vela, District 4 Dave Floyd - Council Member Ryan Alter, District 5 Gabriel Nwajiku- Council Member Mackenzie Kelly,District 6 Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7 Amarige Azzam - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8 Vacant – Council Member Zohaib "Zo" Qadri, District 9 Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:

Nehemiah Pitts III, Chair Steven Apodaca, Vice Chair Gabriel Nwajiku

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:

Dave Floyd Nicole Thompson Brianna Smith Amarige Azzam

Board Members/Commissioners Not in Attendance:

Sumit DasGupta Maxine Eliand Nicole Thompson Cristina Garza

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Pitts called the Community Technology and Telecommunications Meeting to order at 6:35 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No members of the public were signed up to speak.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Regular meeting on April 12th, 2023

Motion to approve the minutes made by Chair Pitts and seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca. The minutes from (3/8/2023) were NOT approved on a vote of 4-0-2. Commissioners Smith and Azzam abstained from the vote.

STAFF BRIEFINGS

- New Commission Member Welcome and Introductions (Amarige Azzam, Gabriel Nwajiku, & Brianna Smith)
- 3. Briefing on Housing and Planning Department's Action Plan for FY23-24 (Chris Duran, Senior Research Analyst Housing and Planning Department)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

4. Working Group Assignments (Commission Discussion and Action)

The Commission decided to make these assignments at another date since working groups are going heavy restructuring due to recent turn overs.

5. Approval of selected applicants for GTOPs Core 2023 (Commission Discussion and Action)

<u>The motion to approve GTOPs Core awardees was made by Chair Pitts and</u> seconded by Commissioner Nwajiku. The decision was approved on a vote of 6-0.

6. Officer Elections (Commission Discussion and Action)

<u>Commissioner Nwajiku nominated Nehemiah Pitts III to continue serving as Chair.</u> <u>The Commission approved the election of Nehemiah Pitts III to serve as Chair on</u> <u>a vote of 6-0. But the vote failed due to discrepancies in the election cycle.</u>

<u>Chair Pitts nominated Steven Apodaca to continue serving as Vice Chair. The</u> <u>Commission approved the election of Steven Apodaca to serve as Vice Chair on a</u> <u>vote of 6-0</u>

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

7. Update from Digital Inclusion, Civic Engagement, and Strategic Technology and Telecom Policy Working Group

Chair Pitts gave a recap of the current projects this working group is assigned to: The digital inclusion town hall listening sessions and the digital inclusion stakeholder summit.

The Commission inquired about the stakeholders who will be a part of the digital inclusion summit planning process. Chair Pitts named various City of Austin departments, several community non-profits, and private entities who have been included in the planning process.

The conversation concludes with discussions on restructuring the working groups to accommodate the interests of the new commissioners and the upcoming work plan retreat. The commission discusses the potential formation of separate committees or working groups for specific initiatives related to digital inclusion.

8. Update from the Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group

Vice Chair Apodaca mentions that the KIDS working group is currently in the process of drafting a final report cataloging their work on communicating city programs and resources, consolidating a digital access resource list, and providing feedback on the Council Voting Database.

Vice Chair Apodaca also spoke on the working group's interest in emergency text message capability and improvements for severe weather events. The group hopes to provide input and facilitate community feedback.

9. Update from Technology, Infrastructure, and Innovation Working Group

Commissioner Dave Floyd provided an update on the groups work regarding discussions on transitioning with new members, developing a work plan, and addressing infrastructure challenges.

Chair Pitts mentions being invited to speak at the Intelligent Infrastructure Conference and possible collaborations with other guests set to speak.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- Approval of March meeting minutes
- Briefing by Google on updates to fiber rollout
- Officer Elections

ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn by Chair Pitts, seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca, passed on a vote of 6-0-0 at 9:30 pm.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Dan Martinez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-3510, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc or contact Dan Martinez at dan.martinez@austintexas.gov

<u>The minutes were approved at the June 14th Regular Meeting on Commissioner Clark's</u> motion and Chair Pitts' second. The motion passed on a vote of 6-1-0.