

Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission July 5th, 2023 at 6:00 PM Permitting And Development Center, Events Center, Room 1405 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive Austin, Texas 78752

Some members of the Environmental Commission will be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</u>

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone.

To register to speak remotely, call or email Elizabeth Funk, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 568-2244, Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov, no later than noon, the day before the meeting. The following information is required: speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, email address and telephone number (must be the same number that will be used to call into the meeting).

CURRENT COMMISSIONERS:

Haris Qureshi Peter Einhorn Mariana Krueger Melinda Schiera Hanna Cofer Colin Nickells Jennifer Bristol, Secretary Kevin Ramberg, Chair David Sullivan Richard Brimer Perry Bedford, Vice Chair

AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular Meeting on June 7, 2023 (5 minutes)

ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER UPDATES

2. Recognition of Rachel Scott for their service on the Environmental Commission – Katie Coyne, Environmental Officer, Watershed Protection Department (5 minutes)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 3. New Environmental Commission member welcome and introduction (5 minutes)
- 4. Presentation and possible action on the Community Investment Budget plan, supported by a coalition of Austin area nonprofits and organizations Presented by Daniela Silva, Equity Action, and requested by Environmental Commissioners Mariana Krueger and David Sullivan (20 minutes)
- 5. Consider a recommendation on the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS) update to the 2012 Master Development Plan (MDP) ordinance (ordinance NO 20120628-014) – Presented by Somer Shindler, Chief Development Officer, Aviation Department; Katie Coyne, City of Austin Environmental Officer and Assistant Director, Watershed Protection Department; and, Keith Mars, Acting Assistant Director, Development Services Department (30 minutes)

PUBLIC HEARINGS

Name: Barton Springs Bathhouse Rehabilitation Project SOS Amendment C20-2023-022 6. **Applicant**: City of Austin – Transportation and Public Works (Riley Triggs) Location: 2201 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78746 **Council District**: District 8 Staff: Leslie Lilly, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department Watershed: Barton Creek Watershed/Barton Springs Zone **Request:** In response to Planning Commission initiated site-specific code amendment to Chapter 25-8, consider an amendment to City Code Chapter 25-8, including Subchapter A, Article 13 (Save Our Springs Initiative) and associated variances as minimally required for the Barton Springs Bath House capital improvements required for emergency response access, ADA access, and updating water and wastewater service to provide improved fire flow and replace aged wastewater service lines. **Staff Recommendation**: Recommended with conditions (30 minutes)

7. **Name**: Little Bear Creek Recharge Enhancement Project SOS Amendment C20-2023-0009

Applicant: City of Austin – Watershed Protection Department (Scott E. Hiers, P.G.)
Location: 16002 Oak Arbor Trail, Buda, Texas 78610
Council District: None
Staff: Leslie Lilly, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection
Department
Watershed: Little Bear Creek Watershed/Barton Springs Zone
Request: In response to Council Resolution 20230420-026, consider variances and amendments to the Land Development Code, including site-specific amendments to Chapter 25-8, Subchapter A, Article 13 (Save Our Springs Initiative), as necessary to allow for the completion of the Little Bear Aquifer Recharge Enhancement Project, an aquifer recharge project at Stoneledge Quarry within the Barton Springs Segment of the Edwards Aquifer. The project will increase the amount of clean water entering the Aquifer, thereby increasing water storage in the Aquifer, enhancing flows at Barton Springs and the Colorado River, and supporting the aquatic and terrestrial species dependent on this water.
Staff Recommendation: Recommended with conditions.

(30 minutes)

COMMITTEE REPORTS

- 8. Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Colin Nickells, and Melinda Schiera
- 9. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
- 10. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee Jennifer Bristol
- 11. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Perry Bedford, Haris Qureshi, and Kevin Ramberg
- 12. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board David Sullivan

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call **Elizabeth Funk**, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-568-2244, <u>Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov</u>; for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Elizabeth Funk**, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-568-2244, <u>Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov</u>.