

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION 20230705-006

Date: July 5, 2023

Subject: Project C20-2023-022 - Barton Spring Bathhouse Rehabilitation Site Specific SOS

Amendment

Motion by: Jennifer Bristol Seconded by: Kevin Ramberg

WHEREAS, the Transportation and Public Works Department (TPW) in partnership with the City of Austin Parks and Recreation Department are requesting an amendment to the City's Save Our Springs ordinance and related variances to Chapter 25-8 of the Land Development Code. The amendment is to update the Bathhouse at the Barton Springs Swimming Pool.

WHEREAS, the Barton Springs Bathhouse was originally constructed before the adoption of the SOS ordinance and does not currently comply with impervious cover limits but proposes to reduce the total impervious cover by 302 sq. ft.

WHEREAS, the project is within the Edwards Aquifer Recharge Zone and the Colorado River Watershed.

WHEREAS, City staff is recommending the SOS amendment with the following conditions:

- The project will decrease total impervious cover on the site by 302 sq. ft.
- The project will improve water quality treatment by constructing a rain garden and vegetative filter strips to treat run off from 0.4 acres of previously untreated parking lot area.
- After renovation is complete, the project will repair impacted soils and revegetate and restore the site to conditions consistent with uses prior to construction.
- The project will use native plant species for all proposed plantings exterior to the buildings associated with the Barton Springs Bathhouse Rehabilitation Project

THEREFORE, the Environmental Commission recommends the amendment with the following additional condition:

1. Include more endangered species and conservation educational opportunities around the rain garden and throughout the pool area in inclusive and various languages.

VOTE: 10-0

For: Kevin Ramberg, Perry Bedford, Jennifer Bristol, Richard Brimer, Hanna Cofer, Mariana Krueger, Colin Nickells, Haris Qureshi, Melinda Schiera, David Sullivan

Against: none Abstain: none Recuse: none

Absent: Peter Einhorn

Attest:

Kevin Ramberg, Environmental Commission Chair