

Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

REGULAR MEETING
MINUTES
Wednesday –May 10th, 2023 – 6:58PM
Permitting and Development Center – Event Center – Room 1405
6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr, Austin, TX 78752

Please go to http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards_commissions/meetings/10_1.htm for backup materials associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.

The Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission convened in a REGULAR meeting on Wednesday, May 10th, 2023, at 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr, Austin, TX 78752

Current Commission Members

Vacant - Mayor Kirk Watson
Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1
Steven Apodaca – Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2
Brianna Smith - Council Member José Velásquez, District 3
Cristina Garza - Council Member José "Chito" Vela, District 4
Thomas Rice- Council Member Ryan Alter, District 5
Gabriel Nwajiku- Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, District 6
Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Amarige Azzam - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8
Vacant – Council Member Zohaib "Zo" Qadri, District 9
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:

Nehemiah Pitts III, Chair Steven Apodaca, Vice Chair Gabriel Nwajiku Brianna Smith Amarige Azzam

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:

Sumit DasGupta Maxine Eliand

Board Members/Commissioners Not in Attendance:

Thomas Rice Christina Garza

CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chair Apodaca called the Community Technology and Telecommunications Meeting to order at 6:58 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No members of the public were signed up to speak.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Regular meeting on March 8th, 2023

Motion to approve the minutes made by Commissioner Pitts and seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca. The minutes from (3/8/2023) were approved on a vote of 6-0.

2. Approve the minutes of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Regular meeting on April 12th, 2023

Motion to approve the minutes made by Commissioner Smith and seconded by Commissioner Azzam. The minutes from (4/12/2023) were NOT approved on a vote of 5-0-1. Commissioner DasGupta abstained from the vote.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

3. FY 2024 Work Plan (Commission Discussion and Action)

Facilitators Cathy Jackson and Mary Aversa guided the council through a series of exercises to begin developing the work plan for the upcoming fiscal year. The commissioners were asked to draft big picture goals, gaps in the commission's work so far, and ideas for initiatives that they would like to work on for the year.

The commission then began to decide which items from last years work plan should be closed out, carried forward, or created from scratch. It was decided that this activity was better suited to be completed outside of the commission meeting time.

The commission then began to group their ideas for new initiatives together in order to have a visual of what issues were most pressing to the group as well as which ideas would merit a working group versus a committee.

4. Working Group Assignments (Commission Discussion and Action)

The commission was not able to address this item due to a lack of time.

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

5. Update from Digital Inclusion, Civic Engagement, and Strategic Technology and Telecom Policy Working Group

The commission was not able to address this item due to a lack of time, but some updates were discussed as a part of the work plan discussion.

6. Update from the Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group

The commission was not able to address this item due to a lack of time, but some updates were discussed as a part of the work plan discussion.

7. Update from Technology, Infrastructure, and Innovation Working Group

The commission was not able to address this item due to a lack of time, but some updates were discussed as a part of the work plan discussion.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Vote to call a Special Called meeting on May 24th (Commission Action and Discussion)

Motion to approve a special called meeting made by Vice Chair Apodaca and seconded by Commissioner Pitts. The minutes meeting was approved on a vote of 7-0-0.

- Approval of April meeting minutes
- Officer Elections
- Work group Assignments
- HSEM Briefing
- N50 Project IDV Community Center Pilot Opportunity

ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn by Commissioner Pitts, seconded by Commissioner DasGupta, passed on a vote of 7-0-0 at 9:58 pm.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Dan Martinez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-3510, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc or contact Dan Martinez at dan.martinez@austintexas.gov

The minutes were approved at the July 12th Regular Meeting on Chair Pitts' motion and Vice Chair Apodaca's second. The motion passed on a vote of 8-0-0.