

# Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a>

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES Wednesday –May 24<sup>th</sup>, 2023 – 6:30PM Austin City Hall – Chambers– Room 1001 301 W. 2<sup>nd</sup> Street – Austin, TX 78701

Please go to <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm">http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm</a> for backup materials associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.">http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.</a>

The Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission convened in a SPECIAL called meeting on Wednesday, May 24th, 2023, at 301 W. 2<sup>nd</sup> St. in Austin, Texas.

#### **Current Commission Members**

Vacant - Mayor Kirk Watson
Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1
Steven Apodaca - Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2
Brianna Smith - Council Member José Velásquez, District 3
Cristina Garza - Council Member José "Chito" Vela, District 4
Thomas Rice- Council Member Ryan Alter, District 5
Gabriel Nwajiaku- Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, District 6
Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Amarige Azzam - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8
Janine Clark - Council Member Zohaib "Zo" Qadri, District 9
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

#### **Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:**

Nehemiah Pitts III, Chair Steven Apodaca, Vice Chair Gabriel Nwajiaku

## **Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:**

Sumit DasGupta Brianna Smith Amarige Azzam Janine Clark Cristina Garza

#### **Board Members/Commissioners Not in Attendance:**

Thomas Rice Maxine Eliand

# **CALL TO ORDER**

Vice Chair Apodaca called the Community Technology and Telecommunications Meeting to order at 6:47 p.m.

#### **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No members of the public were signed up to speak.

# **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

1. Approve the minutes of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Regular meeting on April 12<sup>th</sup>, 2023

Motion to push item to the next meeting made by Vice Chair Apodaca and seconded by Commissioner Pitts. The motion passed unanimously on a vote of 8-0. The minutes from (4/12/2023) were NOT approved.

2. Approve the minutes of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Regular meeting on May 10<sup>th</sup>, 2023

Motion to push item to the next meeting made by Vice Chair Apodaca and seconded by Commissioner Pitts. The motion passed unanimously on a vote of 8-0. The minutes from (5/10/2023) were NOT approved.

## **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

3. Officer Elections (Commission and Discussion Action)

Motion to waive the term limit bylaw made by Commissioner DasGupta and seconded by Commissioner Garza. The motion passed unanimously on a vote of 8-0.

Motion to appoint Commissioner Pitts as chair of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission made by Commissioner Nwajiaku and seconded by Vice Chair Apodaca. The motion passed unanimously on a vote of 8-0.

4. Working Group Assignments (Commission Discussion and Action)

The commission chose to push this item to a future agenda due to the recent addition of new commissioners who have yet to provide their input.

5. Discussion and Possible Action on a Recommendation to Council regarding N50 Project IDV Community Center Pilot Opportunity (Commission Discussion and Action)

Chair Pitts gave a summary of how the project came to be and described how the overlapping goals with other digital inclusion stakeholders he met with aligned well with the Commission and City staff's ongoing efforts to increase digital equity on the East side of Austin. Chair Pitts then called on back-up liaison Jesse Rodriguez to provide a more technical recap of the collaboration with Intel and the Parks and Recreation Department to identify locations in need of technology resources.

The commission asked further questions on specifics of the project like other possible locations for device allocation/placement as well as stakeholders invited to the summit.

Chair Pitts mentioned the upcoming Digital Inclusion and Equity Summit and described the partnerships that had already been established as well as possible guest speakers for the event. The idea of creating a working group to mange the program and deployment of devices is brought up, and the need for strategic partnerships is emphasized. The role of the hypothetical working group in marketing, outreach, and fundraising is also discussed.

Motion to Authorize the N50 Project IDV Community Center Pilot made by Chair Pitts and seconded by Commissioner DasGupta. The motion passed unanimously on a vote of 8-0.

## **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

- Approval of April meeting minutes
- Approval of May meeting minutes
- Work group Assignments
- HSEM Briefing
- TARA legislation briefing
- Google Fiber rollout briefing

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion to adjourn by Vice Chair Apodaca, seconded by Commissioner DasGupta, passed on a vote of 8-0-0 at 7:47 pm.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Dan Martinez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-3510, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a> or contact Dan Martinez at dan.martinez@austintexas.gov

The minutes were approved at the July 12<sup>th</sup> Regular Meeting on Vice Chair Apodaca's motion and Commissioner Eiland's second. The motion passed on a vote of 7-0-1. Commissioner Rice abstained.