

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES JUNE 13, 2023

The COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION convened in a REGULAR MEETING on JUNE 13, 2023, at City Hall Boards and Commissions Room 1101, 301 West 2nd Street, in Austin, Texas. Some members of the commission participated by video conference.

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Thompson called the meeting to order at 6:33pm with members present.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:

Cheryl Thompson Jose Noe Elias Michael Tolliver Cynthia Jaso Molly Hahn

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:

Julia Woods Ike Urquhart Jo Anne Ortiz

Staff Members in Attendance

Rosie Truelove James May Letitia Brown Ed Blake Ruben Aleman Kari Davis

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Carlos Soto with Community Advancement Network signed up to speak.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the May 9, 2023, Community Development Commission meeting minutes.

The minutes from the meeting of May 9, 2023, were approved on Commissioner Elia's motion, Commissioner Urquhart's second with a correction on an (8-0) vote.

BRIEFINGS

2. Presentation on the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) (Angel Zambrano, Neighborhood Services Unit, Austin Public Health).

Angel Zambrano presented.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

3. Discussion and possible action on the Draft Fiscal Year 2023-2024 Action Plan (Mandy DeMayo and Chris Duran, Housing Department)

Rosie Truelove Director of the Housing Department and Chris Duran spoke on this item. Approval of the 2023-2024 Action Plan was set on Commissioner Tolliver's motion, Commissioner Ortiz's second on an (8-0) vote.

4. Appoint an alternate to the South-Central Waterfront Advisory Board (SCWAB).

Commissioner Ortiz volunteered to serve as an alternate representative to the South-Central Waterfront Advisory Board (SCWAB).

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

5. Update from the Austin Transit Partnership (ATP) Community Advisory Committee (Commissioner Elias)

Commissioner Elias spoke on this item.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Thompson adjourned the meeting at 7:39pm with no objections.

The minutes were approved at the July 11, 2023, meeting on Commissioner Hahn's motion, Commissioner Brown's second on a (8-0) vote.