

REGULAR MEETING of the URBAN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION TUESDAY September 5th, 2023 at 5pm BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 CITY HALL- 301 W 2nd St. AUSTIN, TEXAS

Some members of the **Urban Transportation Commission** may be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live. Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely by telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation. To register please call or email the staff liaison in advance at (512) 978-2007 or Christopher.Parks@austintexas.gov by noon on Monday September 5th, with the following information: name, item number(s) to speak on, telephone number, and email address.

CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS/COMMISSIONERS:

Daniel Kavelman-(District 5)
Ruven Brooks, Vice Chair- (District 10)
Arlin Alvarez- (District 3)
Spencer Schumacher- (District 9)
Diana Wheeler- (District 7)
Edward Smith- (District 6)

Susan Somers, Chair- (District 4) Melissa Ortiz- (District 2) Athena Leyton- (District 8) Vacant- (Mayor Appointee) Ellen Ray- (District 1)

AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Urban Transportation Commission REGULAR MEETING on July 11th, 2023.

DISCUSSION

- 2. Discussion on the Transit Forward presentation <u>Presenter:</u> Bill McCamley, Transit Forward
- 3. Discussion on the General Overview of Arterial Management Division Presenter: Brian Craig, Transportation and Public Works Department
- 4. Discussion on the Pedestrian Hybrid Beacons.

 <u>Presenter:</u> Brian Craig, Transportation and Public Works Department
- Discussion on the Congress Avenue Urban Design Project
 <u>Presenter:</u> Laura Dierenfield, Transportation and Public Works Department

BRIEFINGS

- 6. Downtown Commission: Commissioner Cynthia Weatherby
- 7. Joint Sustainability Commission: Commissioner Diana Wheeler
- 8. Bicycle Advisory Council: Commissioner Spencer Schumacher
- 9. Pedestrian Advisory Council: Commissioner Daniel Kavelman
- 10. City Council Mobility Committee: Commissioner Susan Somers
- 11. Community Advisory Committee for Austin Transit Partnership Board: Susan Sommers

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Christopher Parks, at (512)-978-2007, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Urban Transportation Commission, please contact Christopher Parks at christopher.parks@austintexas.gov