

ARTS COMMISSSION
REGULAR CALLED MEETING
MINUTES
June 12, 2023

The ARTS COMMISSION convened in a REGULAR CALLED meeting on 12, June, 2023, at Permit and Development Center, Room 1405, 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr, Austin, TX 78752

Heidi Schmalbach called the ARTS COMMISSION Meeting to order at 6:10 p.m.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance: Heidi Schmalbach, Kate Csillagi, Nagavalli Medicharla

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely: Felipe Garza, Acia Gray, Monica Maldonado.

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

Natalie Earhart of Almost Real Things spoke about their Big Splash Event

AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Arts Commission Regular Meeting on May 15, 2023.

The minutes from the meeting of May 15, 2023 were approved on Commissioner Gray motion, Commissioner Maldonado second on a 6-0 vote with Commissioner Zisman and Commissioner Mok absent

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 2. Discussion of Chair's Report on Rude Mechs and Austin Bat Cave by Chair Zisman **No update given**
- 3. Discussion of the Art in Public Places Liaison Report by Commissioner Gray A report was provided by Commissioner Gray.
- 4. Discussion of the Austin Economic Development Corporation/Cultural Trust Advisory Committee by Austin Economic Development Corporation Board Member Carl Settles

A report was made by Board Member Settles.

5. Discussion of the Downtown Commission by Commissioner Mok

No Report Was Given

STAFF BRIEFINGS

- 6. Staff briefing regarding an update on the Hotel Occupancy Tax by Laura Odegaard, Cultural Investment Program Manager
 - The presentation was made by Laura Odegaard, Cultural Investment Program Manager in the Economic Development Department.
- 7. Staff briefing regarding the Cultural Arts Funding Programs by Jesus Pantel, Cultural Funding Supervisor, and Laura Odegaard, Cultural Investment Program Manager The presentation was made by Jesus Pantel, Cultural Funding Supervisor in the Economic Development Department.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 8. Approve Recommended Artists for the Dougherty Arts Center Emerging Artist AIPP Projects
 - A motion to approve the Recommended Artist for the Dougherty Arts Center Emerging Artist Art in Public Places Project on Commissioner Gray motion, Commissioner Medicharla second on a 6-0 vote with Commissioner Zisman and Commissioner Mok absent
- Discussion and Possible Action on continuing the conversation from the Joint Arts and Music retreat regarding short term rentals and HOT collection
 The item was discussed

WORKING GROUP UPDATES

10. Update from Equity Working Group with Community Arts leaders of the BIPOC/LGBTQIA/Disabilities Community/Women with Commissioners Gray, Zisman, and community members

No update given

- 11. Update from Quarterly Arts Community Commission Meet-ups Working Group with Commissioners, Garza (chair), Gray, and Maldonado

 No update given
- 12. Update from Emergency Funding and Proactive Strategies for Future Funding Working Group with Commissioners Schmalbach and Zisman (chair)
 - **Update was given by Commissioner Schmalbach**
- 13. Update from joint Arts/Music Commission Working Group on Urban Core Issues with Commissioners Gray, Maldonado, Mok, and Schmalbach (chair).
 - **Update was given by Commissioner Schmalbach**

ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

Various items were discussed

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- Invite Ann Graham from Texans for The Arts to present at Arts Commission
- Invite Brie Franco from IGRO to present at Arts Commission

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Schmalbach adjourned the meeting at 7:10 P.M. without objection.

The minutes were approved at the September 18, 2022 meeting on Commissioner Gray motion, Commissioner Mok second on a 7-0 vote with Commissioner Maldonado, Garza, Csillagi, and Medicharla absent