

ARTS COMMISSSION
REGULAR CALLED MEETING
MINUTES
August 21, 2023

The ARTS COMMISSION convened in a REGULAR CALLED meeting on 21, August 2023 at Austin City Hall, Council Chambers, Room 1001. 301 West 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701

Commissioner SCHMAILBACH called the ARTS COMMISSION Meeting to order at 6:06 p.m.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance: Heidi Schmalbach, Gina Houston, Acia Gray, Faiza Kracheni, Amy Mok

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely: Monica Maldonado, Felipe Garza

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Arts Commission Regular Meeting on July 17, 2023.

The minutes from the meeting of July 17, 2023 were not approved on Commissioner

Gray motion, Commissioner Mok second on a 6-0 vote with Commissioner Zisman,

Medicharla and Garza absent.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 2. Discussion of Chair's Report on Our Ongoing Process by Vice Chair Schmalbach A report was made by Commissioner Schmalbach
- 3. Discussion of the Art in Public Places Liaison Report by Commissioner Gray A report was provided by Commissioner Gray.

4. Discussion of the Austin Economic Development Corporation/Cultural Trust Advisory Committee by Austin Economic Development Corporation Board Member Carl Settles

No update given

5. Discussion of the Downtown Commission by Commissioner Mok

A report was made by Commissioner Mok

STAFF BRIEFINGS

- 6. Staff briefing regarding an update on the Hotel Occupancy Tax by Laura Odegaard, Acting Cultural Arts Division Manager
 - The presentation was made by Laura Odegaard, Acting Cultural Arts Division Manager in the Economic Development Department.
- 7. Staff briefing regarding the Cultural Arts Funding Programs by Jesus Pantel, Cultural Funding Supervisor, and Laura Odegaard, Acting Cultural Arts Division Manager The presentation was made by Laura Odegaard, Acting Cultural Arts Division Manager in the Economic Development Department.
- 8. Staff briefing on the Agreement with The Trail Conservancy to manage TEMPO 2024 by Constance Y. White, Art in Public Places Program Manager

 The presentation was made by Constance Y. White, Art in Public Places Program Manager
- 9. Staff briefing regarding an update to the Code definition by Donald Jackson, Business Process Consultant, Economic Development
 - The presentation was made by Donald Jackson, Business Process Consultant, Economic Development

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 10. Approve the Final Design for the Austin Fire Station 22 / Austin-Travis County Emergency Medical Services Station 12 Art in Public Places Project
- 11. Approve the Selection Process Recommendation for the Dougherty Arts Center Iconic Art in Public Places Project
- 12. Approve the Selection Process Recommendation for the Airport Playscapes Art in Public Places Project

A motion to approve items 10-12 on consent on Commissioner Gray motion, Commissioner Mok second on a 7-0 vote with Commissioners Zisman and Medicharla absent

13. Update from Equity Working Group with Community Arts leaders of the BIPOC/LGBTQIA/Disabilities Community/Women with Commissioners Gray, Zisman, and community members

No update given

- 14. Update from Quarterly Arts Community Commission Meet-ups Working Group with Commissioners, Garza (chair), Gray, and Maldonado

 No update given
- 15. Update from Emergency Funding and Proactive Strategies for Future Funding Working Group with Commissioners Schmalbach and Zisman (chair)

 No update given
- Update from joint Arts/Music Commission Working Group on Urban Core Issues with Commissioners Gray, Maldonado, and Schmalbach (chair).
 No update given

ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

Various items were discussed

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

• Invite Brie Franco from IGRO to present at Arts Commission (tentatively scheduled for Oct 16th Arts Commission Meeting)

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Schmalbach adjourned the meeting at 7:44 P.M. without objection.

The minutes were approved at the September 18, 2022 meeting on Commissioner Gray motion, Commissioner Mok second on a 7-0 vote with Commissioner Maldonado, Garza, Csillagi, and Medicharla absent