

DOWNTOWN COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING WEDNESDAY, JULY 19, 2023

The Downtown Commission convened in a meeting on Wednesday, July 19, 2023, at 301 W. 2nd Street in hybrid meeting format.

COMMISSIONERS IN ATTENDANCE:

August Harris, Chair Mike Lavigne Ed Ishmael Jr., Vice-Chair Joshua R. Lickteig Liz Coufal Amy Mok

Jen Weaver

Kimberly Levinson

CITY STAFF IN ATTENDANCE:

Aaron D. Jenkins, Economic Development Department Christine Maguire, Economic Development Department

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called the meeting to order at 5:33pm

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- 1. Approve the minutes of the Downtown Commission June 21, 2023, Regular meeting.
 - **a.** Vice Chair E. Ishmael Jr. requested that a correction of him being noted as Chair be made.
 - **b.** A motion to approve the minutes was made by *Commissioner K. Levinson* and seconded by *Commissioner J. Lickteig* on a vote of (7-0)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 2. The Trail Conservancy on the Rainey Street Trailhead project and security considerations. Presentations to be given by Nick Blok of the Trail Conservancy and Kimberly McNeeley and Lindsey Machamer of the City of Austin Parks and Recreation Department (PARD).
 - a. No action was taken.
- 3. Presentation on the I-35 expansion project was given by Tommy Abrego of the Texas Department of Transportation (TXDOT).
 - a. No action was taken.
- 4. Presentation of the Cap n Stitch component over the I-35 expansion was given by Susan Daniels of City of Austin Transportation and Public Works Department.
 - a. No action was taken.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 5. Discussion of recent activities and actions taken by the Arts Commission.
 - **a.** Commissioner A. Mok updated the commission on the two new grant programs for artists.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- 6. Update on the Health South Project
- 7. Update on the Scooter Program

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting was adjourned at 7:23 pm without any objection.

The minutes were approved at the September 20, 2023 Meeting on Chair A. Harris Motion, Seconded by Commissioner K. Levinson on a 9-0 vote.