

ANIMAL ADVISORY COMMISSION MINUTES SEPTEMBER 12, 2022

REGULAR MEETING
APPROVED October 10 2022

The Animal Advisory Commission convened for a regular meeting on Monday, September 12, 2022, 6 p.m., in the Boards and Commissions Room 1101 at Austin City Hall.

Commission Chair, Craig Nazor, called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m., conducted a roll call of those in attendance, and confirmed a quorum of 11 commissioners. Chair Nazor introduced new commissioner, Dr. Amanda Bruce, appointed by District 10 Council Member Alison Alter. Five Commissioners attended the meeting in person: Nazor, Smagula, Norton, Dr. Nilson and Dr Amanda Bruce. Six Commissioners attended via teleconferencing: Mitchell, Neuhaus, Nemer, Jarl, Clinton and Dulzaides. Commissioner Herrera arrived late but did not sign the recusal form prior to the meeting; Chair Nazor informed him that he could not participate. Commissioner Hassen was absent.

Commission Members Absent: Herrera and Hassen

Staff in Attendance: Don Bland, Jason Garza

PUBLIC COMMUNICATIONS: GENERAL

In-person:

Tave Guzman
Emily Wells
Kayla Murray
Rochelle Vickery
Emily Steinberg
Hilary Routon
Amy Swenson
APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Commissioner Norton moved to approve the minutes from the commission meeting August 8, 2022, and Commissioner Smagula seconded the motion which passed unanimously, 11 to 0, with all Commissioners voting approval except Herrera and Hassen who were absent/off the dais.

BRIEFINGS

- 2. Austin Animal Center and Animal Services Reports
- 3. AAC Staffing and Services
- 4. AAC Public Communications on Services

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 5. Presentation by Parliamentarian regarding Roberts Rules of Order
- 6. Presentation by Austin Pets Alive! regarding APA! Quarterly Report

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

7. Discussion and Possible Action on the Establishment of Commission Rules for Questions, Comments, and Debate Speaker:

Amber Rowland

Commissioner Clinton moved to accept the proposed change; Commissioner Dulzaides seconded the motion. Commissioner Bruce moved to postpone indefinitely; Commissioner Nilson seconded the motion to postpone. The motion to postpone failed by 2 to 9 vote. The motion to accept the change failed, with Commissioner Nazor voting for, Commissioners Norton, Nilson, Smagula and Bruce voting against, Commissioners Mitchell, Neuhaus, Clinton, and Nemer abstained; Commissioner Jarl was off the dais.

- 8. Discussion and Possible Action on ACC Monthly Reporting of Data No action
- 9. Discussion and Possible Action on Transferring Austin Animal Center Animals to Other Communities

Speakers:

Katherine Gibbs

Beverly Luna (also played recording of individual identified as owner of dog)

No action

10. Discussion and Possible Action on Austin Animal Center Space Crisis and Recommendations from the Space Crisis Working Group Speakers:

Caitlin Chang

Andrea Trementozzi

Ashley Niels

No action

11. Discussion and Possible Action on Inclusion of Animal Services in the City of Austin's next Five-Year Strategic Plan

No action

- 12. Discussion and Possible Action on City's Use of Cooling Centers No Action
- Discussion and Possible Action on City Building Code Changes for Birds No Action

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Commissioners discussed and approved retaining agenda items 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, and those with no action taken, and, as new items under Discussion and Action Item: Closing Intake at the Shelter; and Procedures for Returning Lost Dogs to Owners (both proposed by Commissioner Dulzaides and seconded by Commissioner Clinton). Chair Nazor also proposed that Dr. Merlin Tuttle provide a presentation on bats and the Congress Avenue Bridge. Commission Norton moved to include as an agenda item, and Commission Nilson seconded.

ADJOURNMENT

Commission Chair Nazor adjourned the meeting without objection at 9:51 p.m.

At the October10, 2022, meeting, Commissioner Nemer moved to approve the September 12, 2022, minutes with corrections; Commissioner Jarl seconded the motion which passed unanimously with all participating Commissioners voting in favor, 7 to 0: Six members were absent, including Commissioners Smagula, Clinton, Herrera, Mitchell, Neuhaus, and Hassen.