

# Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission October 18<sup>th</sup>, 2023 at 6:00 PM Permitting And Development Center, Events Center, Room 1405 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive Austin, Texas 78752

Some members of the Environmental Commission will be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live">http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</a>

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone.

To register to speak remotely, call or email Kaela Champlin, Watershed Protection Department, at (737) 230-3786, <u>Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov</u> no later than noon, the day before the meeting. The following information is required: speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, email address and telephone number (must be the same number that will be used to call into the meeting).

CURRENT COMMISSIONERS: Colin Nickells

Haris Qureshi Jennifer Bristol, Secretary
Peter Einhorn Kevin Ramberg, Chair
Mariana Krueger David Sullivan
Melinda Schiera Richard Brimer
Hanna Cofer Perry Bedford, Vice Chair

**AGENDA** 

### **CALL TO ORDER**

# **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular Meeting on October 4<sup>th</sup>, 2023.

### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

- 2. Approve a recommendation to vary from LDC 25-8-302(A)(2) to allow parking areas on slopes in excess of 15 percent; 25-8-342 to allow fill greater than 4 feet, to 8 feet, on a slope greater than 15 percent; and 25-8-341 to allow cut greater than 4 feet, to 13 for the QuikTrip No. 414 (SP-2022-0407D) located at 12500 FM 969 ROAD (Extraterritorial Jurisdiction) Presented by Pamela Abee Taulli, Environmental Review Specialist Senior, Development Services Department
- 3. Review and approve changes to the 2024 Environmental Commission Meeting Schedule

### **WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES**

- 4. Update from the Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Mariana Krueger, Colin Nickells, and Melinda Schiera
- 5. Update from the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
- 6. Update from the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee
   Jennifer Bristol
- 7. Update from the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Perry Bedford, Hanna Cofer, Haris Qureshi, and Kevin Ramberg
- 8. Update from the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board David Sullivan
- 9. Update from the Native Landscaping Working Group Melinda Schiera, Perry Bedford, Richard Brimer, and David Sullivan

## **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

### **ADJOURNMENT**

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Kaela Champlin, (737) 230-3786, <u>Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov</u>, Watershed Protection Department, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact Kaela Champlin, (737) 230-3786, Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov Watershed Protection Department.