

DESIGN COMMISSION REGULAR CALLED MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, AUGUST 28, 2023

The Design Commission convened in a regular meeting on Monday, August 28, 2023, at the Permitting and Development Center, Room 1405, located at 6310 Wilhelmina Delco in Austin, Texas.

Chair Weaver called the Design Commission Meeting to order at 6:03 p.m.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:

Jen Weaver, Chair David Carroll Conners Ladner Ben Luckens Marissa McKinney Jessica Rollason Jon Salinas

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:

Kevin Howard

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

None.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Design Commission regular meeting on June 26, 2023.

The minutes from the meeting of 6/26/2023 were approved on Commissioner McKinney's motion, Commissioner Carroll's second on an 8-0 vote. Vice Chair Meiners and Commissioner Wittstruck were absent.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

2. Presentation by Melissa Barry, Downtown Austin Alliance, regarding the Downtown Austin Alliance Strategic Plan 2023-2028.

The presentation was made by Melissa Barry, Downtown Austin Alliance.

3. Discussion of the update to the Urban Design Guidelines. Presented by Sophia Benner, Planning Department.

Chair Weaver introduced the item. The presentation was made by Sophia Benner, Planning Department.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

4. Discussion and possible action to recommend to City Council whether the project Block 32, located at 304, 306, 308, and 310 East 3rd Street and 301 San Jacinto Boulevard, complies with the Urban Design Guidelines for the City of Austin in accordance with Land Development Code § 25-2-586 (C)(1)(a)(ii). Presented by Brett Rhode, Rhode Partners, and Dustin Dorph, Manifold Real Estate.

The motion that the project Block 32, located at 304, 306, 308, and 310 East 3rd Street and 301 San Jacinto Boulevard, complies with the Urban Design Guidelines for the City of Austin in accordance with Land Development Code § 25-2-586 (C)(1)(a)(ii) was approved on Commissioner Rollason's motion, Commissioner Salinas' second on a 6-2 vote. Those members voting aye were Chair Weaver, Commissioner Carroll, Commissioner Ladner, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Rollason, and Commissioner Salinas. Those members voting nay were Commissioner Howard and Commissioner Luckens. Vice Chair Meiners and Commissioner Wittstruck were absent.

- 5. Conduct a nomination for the representative for the Downtown Commission.

 The motion to nominate Commissioner McKinney to the Downtown Commission was approved on Commissioner Ladner's motion, Commissioner Salinas' second on an 8-0 vote. Vice Chair Meiners and Commissioner Wittstruck were absent.
- 6. Discussion and possible action on the membership of Working Groups.

 The motion to dissolve the infrastructure working group was approved on Chair Weaver's motion, Commissioner Rollason's second on a 7-0 vote. Commissioner Luckens was off the dais. Vice Chair Meiners and Commissioner Wittstruck were absent.

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

7. Update from the Urban Design Guidelines Working Group regarding updates to the guidelines.

Update was given by Commissioner Carroll.

- 8. Update from representative on the Downtown Commission regarding last meeting.

 No update was given.
- 9. Update from representative on the Joint Sustainability Committee regarding last meeting.

Update was given by Commissioner Salinas.

10. Update from representative on the South-Central Waterfront Advisory Board regarding last meeting.

Update was given by Commissioner Ladner. Commissioner Rollason announced her resignation.

Chair Weaver adjourned the meeting at 9:17 p.m. without objection.

