

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION REGULAR CALLED MEETING MINUTES WEDNESDAY, October 18, 2023

The ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION convened in a REGULAR meeting on Wednesday, October 18, 2023, at 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive in Austin, Texas.

Vice-Chair Bedford called the Environmental Commission Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Commissioners in Attendance: Perry Bedford, Jennifer Bristol, Richard Brimer, Hanna

Cofer, Peter Einhorn, Mariana Krueger, Haris Qureshi, David Sullivan Commissioners in Attendance Remotely: Colin Nickells, Melinda Schiera

Commissioners Absent: Kevin Ramberg

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular Meeting on October 4th, 2023.

The minutes from the regular meeting on October 4th, 2023 were approved at the October 18th, 2023 meeting on Commissioner Qureshi's motion, Commissioner Sullivan's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioner Schiera and Cofer abstained. Commissioner Krueger was off the dais. Commissioner Ramberg was absent.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

2. Approve a recommendation to vary from LDC 25-8-302(A)(2) to allow parking areas on slopes in excess of 15 percent; 25-8-342 to allow fill greater than 4 feet, to 8 feet, on a slope greater than 15 percent; and 25-8-341 to allow cut greater than 4 feet, to 13 for the QuikTrip No. 414 (SP-2022-0407D) located at 12500 FM 969 ROAD (Extraterritorial Jurisdiction) – Presented by Pamela Abee Taulli, Environmental Review Specialist Senior, Development Services Department

Speakers: Dave Anderson

A motion to approve the variance was made on Vice-Chair Bedford's motion, Commissioner Sullivans's second.

A substitute motion to amend the motion removing the last WHEREAS clause regarding Dark Skies Lighting and electric vehicle charging stations failed on Commissioner Einhorn's motion, Commissioner Cofer's second on a 5-4 vote. Those members voting aye were: Commissioners Nickells, Qureshi, Einhorn, Bedford, and Cofer. Those voting nay were: Commissioners Krueger, Schiera, Sullivan, and Brimer. Commissioners Bristol and Ramberg were absent.

The motion to approve the variance on Vice-Chair Bedford's motion, Commissioner Sullivan's second was approved unanimously on a 9-0 vote. Commissioners Bristol and Ramberg were absent.

3. Review and approve changes to the 2024 Environmental Commission Meeting Schedule The changes to the 2024 Environmental Commission Meeting Schedule were approved on Commissioner Einhorn's motion, Commissioner Schiera's second on a 9-0 vote. Commissioners Bristol and Ramberg were absent.

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

- 4. Update from the Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Mariana Krueger, Colin Nickells, and Melinda Schiera

 Commissioner Brimer gave an update on the Urban Forestry Committee.
- 5. Update from the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
 - Commissioner Qureshi gave an update on the Joint Sustainability Committee
- 7. Update from the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee

 Jennifer Bristol
- 8. Update from the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Perry Bedford, Hanna Cofer, Haris Qureshi, and Kevin Ramberg
- 9. Update from the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board David Sullivan Commissioner Sullivan gave an update on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board.
- Update from the Native Landscaping Working Group Melinda Schiera, Perry Bedford, Richard Brimer, and David Sullivan
 Commissioner Schiera gave an update on the Native Landscaping Working Group.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Commissioner Sullivant requested a future agenda item to discuss and consider a recommendation to support efforts to increase housing within the city to higher density to make mass transit work. Einhorn seconded the request.

Vice-Chair Bedford adjourned the meeting at 6:59 p.m. without objection.

The minutes were approved at the November 1, 2023 meeting on Commissioner Einhorn's motion, Commissioner Sullivan's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioners Ramberg and Bristol abstained. Commissioners Krueger and Nickells were absent. Commissioner Qureshi was off the dais.