

TOURISM COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES *11, OCTOBER 2023*

The TOURISM COMMISSION convened in a REGULAR meeting on 11, OCTOBER 2023, at 301 w. Second St. in Austin, Texas.

Chair, Daniel Ronan called the TOURISM COMMISSION Meeting to order at 2:32 p.m.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance: Commissioners Ed Bailey, Mike Cannatti, Greg Chanon, Bishop Chappell, Stefani Mathis, John Riedie, Daniel Ronan, and Christian Tschoepe Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely: Commissioners Aileen Bazan Board Members/Commissioners Absence: Commissioner Rachel Magee and Anna Panossian

PUBLIC COMMUNICATIONS

1. Neil Kassanoff, Founder and Director of Groundwork Music Project

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2. Approve the minutes of the TOURISM COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING on September 13, 2023.

The minutes from the meeting of 9/13/2023 were approved on Vice Chair Bailey's motion and Commissioner Mathis's second on an 8-0-1 vote. Commissioner Mike Cannatti abstained, and Commissioners Rachel Magee and Anna Panossian were absent.

STAFF BRIEFINGS

3. Felicia Ojeda, Staff Liaison, had no announcements regarding the Tourism Commission board.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

4. Presentation by Director, Sylnovia Rabb-Holt, with Economic Development Department regarding the Cultural Arts and Heritage Tourism Divisions, along with the Arts and Historic Preservation funding and grant programs.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 5. Discussion and possible action of the Arts Program Funding related to the Hotel Occupancy Tax funding.
 - a. Commissioner Riedie motions to create a working group in relation to Music, Cultural Arts, and Historic Preservation Programs to improve ways to use Hotel Occupancy Tax Funds with a second by Chair Ronan.
 - b. Commissioner Riedie and Ronan tabled the motion until a later date in 2024.
- 6. Discussion and possible action of the Short-Term Rentals related to the Hotel Occupancy Tax Funds.
 - a. Commissioner Mathis motions to create a working group in relation to Short-Term Rentals and the impacts to the Hotel Occupancy Tax funding with a second by Commissioner Tschoepe on a 9-0 vote. (Approved motion)
 - b. Commissioner Chappell to lead the STR Working Group. Commissioners Mathis, Riedie and Tschoepe.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- 7. Discussion in labor as it relates to Tourism.
- 8. Discussion for Topic Items for 2024
- 9. Discussion for Tourism Commission Meetings for 2024 calendar year

Motion to adjourn the meeting by Chair Ronan and seconded by Commissioner Chappell. Chair Ronan adjourned the meeting at 4:40 p.m. with an (8-0) vote.

The minutes were approved at the November 8, 2023, meeting on Commissioner Chanon's motion, Commissioner Chappell's second on a (7-0) vote.