

HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION MINUTES Special Meeting Monday, November 6, 2023 6:00 p.m. – Adjournment Permit Development Center Room 1401/1402 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr. Austin, TX 78752

CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:

P - Idona Griffith, Chair (She/Her) **V** - Alicia Weigel, (She/They)

- **A** Lorraine M. Garcia
- **P** Gabriella Zeidan
- **P** Michael Stevenson
- P Muneeb 'Meebs' Aslam (He/Him)

P: In-person Attendance V: Virtual Attendance A: Absent

STAFF IN ATTENDANCE:

Damian Pantoja, Office of Civil Rights Emi Johson, Office of Civil Rights Gary Aaron, Office of Civil Rights Dr. Tamela Saldana, Office of Civil Rights P - Morgan Davis (He/Him)
P - Mariana Krueger (She/Her)
P - Kolby Duhon (He/They)
P - Jeffery Clemmons
Vacant - D6

Chelsea Johnson, Office of Civil Rights Jeremy Garza, Equity Office Alejandra Mireles, Equity Office

AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER

START: 7:07 PM

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

21 Registered Speakers

The following individuals spoke about Recommendation 20231106-001:

Nakhli Zeidan Elaine Cohen Zaki Saadeh Ben Suddaby Kellie Sedgwick Jacob Roberts Holly Holt Chas Moore Daniela Silva Christian Prulea Nor Melhem Michael Katz Heary Kohem Givlia Goldston Meira Vedros Laila Dabbakeh Job Bejarano Hatem Natsheh Moon Mehmood

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

1. Discuss, review, and vote on Recommendation 20231106-001 <u>Resolution on Combating</u> <u>Antisemitism, Islamophobia, and Anti-Arab Sentiments in the City of Austin and</u> <u>Promoting Peace for All</u>

Commissioner Duhan made the motion, Commissioner Aslam 2nd the motion. The motion passed 7-1-1. Commissioner Steveson voted against the motion Chair Griffith abstain from the motion. Commissioner Garcia was absent from the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

END: 8:02 PM

Commissioner Aslam made the motion; Commissioner Duhan 2nd the motion. The motion passed unanimously 9 – 0. Commissioner Garcia was absent from the motion.

The minutes were approved at the November 27, 2023 meeting on Commissioner J. Clemmons motion, Commissioner K. Duhon second on a (7-0-1) vote. Commissioner L. Garcia abstained.