

# REGULAR MEETING of the PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION DECEMBER 4, 2023 at 4PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, Boards and Commission Room #1101 301 WEST 2<sup>nd</sup> STREET AUSTIN, TEXAS

Some members of the Public Safety Commission may be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live">http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</a>

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone. To register to speak remotely, call or email Janet Jackson, (512) 974-5747, or Janet.jackson@austintexas.gov.

#### **CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS/COMMISSIONERS:**

Nelly Paulina Ramírez, Chair

Rebecca Bernhardt, Vice Chair

David Holmes

John Kiracofe

Cory Hall-Martin

Pierre Nguyễn

Kristy Orr

Lauren Peña

Timothy Ruttan

Yasmine Smith

#### **AGENDA**

### CALL TO ORDER 4:00pm

<u>PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL</u> 4:00pm-4:05pm (from speakers signed up to speak)

The first three speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

# APPROVAL OF MINUTES 4:05pm-4:10pm

1. Approve the minutes of the PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION REGULAR CALLED MEETING on November 6, 2023.

## STAFF BRIEFINGS: 4:10pm-4:15pm

2. Staff Briefing to provide follow up responses to questions presented at November 6, 2023 meeting regarding items 3, 4 and 5 on the AFD quarterly report, language access policies, and victim services.

## **DISCUSSION**

- 3. Public Safety Quarterly Report Austin Travis County EMS (Sponsors: Commissioners Ramírez and Bernhardt) 4:15pm 4:30pm
- 4. Discussion of Office of Police Oversight's under new leadership, implementation of APOA and Resolution 99 with Equity Action and community leaders (Sponsors: Commissioners Ruttan and Ramirez) 4:30pm-5:10pm
- 5. Discussion of Sobering Center and its cooperation with public safety agencies with Executive Director Laura Elmore (Sponsors: Commissioners Smith & Bernhardt) 5:10pm-5:50pm

# **WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES**

6. CSCRM Working Group Update (Sponsors: Commissioners Ramírez and Orr) 5:50-5:55pm

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS – 5:55pm-6:00pm ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Janet Jackson, Austin Police Department, at 512-974-547, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Public Safety Commission, please contact Chief of Staff, Jeff Greenwalt 512-974-5030.