

Commission for Women REGULAR MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, November 1st, 2023

The Commission for Women convened in a regular meeting on Wednesday, November 1st, 2023, at Austin City Hall, Boards and Commission Room-1101 301 West 2nd Street, Austin, Texas, 78701

Chair Melendez called the Commission for Women Meeting to order at 12:07 p.m.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:

Diana Melendez, Chair

Katrina Scheihing

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:

Becky Bullard

Julie Glasser

Vanessa Bissereth

Rebecca Austen

Josephine Serrata

Maria Veloz Salas

Board Members/Commissioners Absent:

Jocelyn Tau, Vice Chair

Pam Rattan

Staff in Attendance:

Tabitha Taylor, Office of Civil Rights

Commissioner Austen entered the dias at 12:10 pm

Commissioner Serrata entered the dias at 12:18 pm

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

NONE

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

 Approve the minutes of the Commission for Women regular meeting on October 4, 2023. The minutes from the meeting were approved at the November 1st, 2023, meeting on Commissioner's Scheihing motion, Commissioner Glasser seconded on a (6-0) vote. Commissioners Austen and Serrata were absent for the vote. Commissioners Rattan and Tau were from the meeting.

DISCUSSION

2. Discussion regarding Joint Inclusion Committee Meeting Minutes and Updates **Discussion was held.**

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 3. Discussion and possible action to approve Women's Hall of Fame Recognition Plan Discussion was held. Action was taken to approve the Women's Hall of Fame updated plan, the motion to approve plan was motioned by Commissioner Bullard and seconded by Scheihing on an (8-0) vote. Commissioners Rattan and Tau were absent from the meeting.
- Discussion and possible action to appoint Commissioners Salas and Scheihing to Commission for Women's Working Groups
 Discussion was held and action was taken to appoint Commissioner Scheihing to the Collective Sex Crime Response (CSCRM) Joint Working Group, the motion was led by Commissioner Veloz and was seconded by Commissioner Glasser on an 8-0 vote. Commissioner Rattan and Tau were absent from the meeting.
- 5. Discussion and possible action to confirm the Commission for Women's FY2024 meeting schedule.

Discussion was held. Action was taken to confirm the Commission for Women's FY2024 meeting schedule as every first Wednesday of each month from 12:00pm-1:30pm except for the months that conflict with a holiday. An alternative meeting date and time will be identified for January and July. The motion to approved the FY2024 meeting schedule was led by Commissioner Scheihing and seconded by Commissioner Serrata on an 8-0 vote .

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

 Update from Working Group on Recognition of Equity for Women and Girls. Discussion was held.

- 7. Update from Working Group on Quality-of-Life Study **Discussion was held**.
- Update from Working Group on FY2023-24 Budget Discussion was held.
- 9. Update from Working Group on Joint Collective Sex Crime Response Model (CSCRM) Project **Discussion was held.**

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Melendez adjourned the meeting at 12:44 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Tabitha Taylor at the Office of Civil Rights, at (512) 972-5023 or <u>Tabitha.Taylor@austintexas.gov</u>, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Commission for Women, please contact Tabitha Taylor at the Office of Civil Rights, at (512) 972-5023 or <u>Tabitha.Taylor@austintexas.gov</u>.

The minutes from the meeting were approved at the November 1, 2023, meeting on Commissioner's Scheihing motion, Commissioner Glasser seconded on a (6-0) vote. Commissioners Austen and Serrata were absent for the vote. Commissioners Rattan and Tau were from the meeting.