

Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission December 6, 2023 at 6:00 PM Permitting And Development Center, Events Center, Room 1405 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive Austin, Texas 78752

Some members of the Environmental Commission will be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</u>

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone.

To register to speak remotely, call or email Kaela Champlin, Watershed Protection Department, at (737) 230-3786, <u>Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov</u> no later than noon, the day before the meeting. The following information is required: speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, email address and telephone number (must be the same number that will be used to call into the meeting).

CURRENT COMMISSIONERS: Haris Qureshi Peter Einhorn Mariana Krueger Colin Nickells Jennifer Bristol, Secretary Kevin Ramberg, Chair David Sullivan Richard Brimer Perry Bedford, Vice Chair

AGENDA

Melinda Schiera

Hanna Cofer

CALL TO ORDER

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular Meeting on November 15, 2023

PUBLIC HEARINGS

- Name: HCA Behavior Health Hospital, SP-2022-0516C
 Applicant: Tim Wallace, Pacheco Koch a Westwood Company
 Location: 2411 Park Bend Dr., Austin, Texas 78758
 Council District: District 7
 Staff: Pamela Abee-Taulli, Environmental Program Coordinator, Development Services Department
 Applicant request: Request to vary from LDC 25-8-342 to allow fill to 13 feet
 Staff recommendation: Recommended with conditions
- 3. Consider a site-specific amendment to City Code Chapter 25-8, Subchapter A, Article 13 (Save Our Springs Initiative), as minimally required to address development related to the proposed resubdivision and development at 1905 and 1908 Airole Way. This action concerns land located in the Barton Springs Zone. Presented by Leslie Lilly, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department.
- 4. Consider amendments to Title 25 related to environmental protections at the Ann and Roy Butler Hike and Bike Trail. Presented by Leslie Lilly, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

5. Consider a recommendation regarding the "HOME" Land Development Code Amendments. Presented by Dave Sullivan, Environmental Commission member.

WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

- 6. Update from the Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Mariana Krueger, Colin Nickells, and Melinda Schiera
- 7. Update from the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
- 8. Update from the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee – Jennifer Bristol
- 9. Update from the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Perry Bedford, Hanna Cofer, Haris Qureshi, and Kevin Ramberg
- 10. Update from the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board David Sullivan

11. Update from the Native Landscaping Working Group – Melinda Schiera, Perry Bedford, Richard Brimer, and David Sullivan

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Kaela Champlin, (737) 230-3786, <u>Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov</u>, Watershed Protection Department, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact Kaela Champlin, (737) 230-3786, <u>Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov</u>, Watershed Protection Department.