

ARTS COMMISSSION SPECIAL CALLED MEETING MINUTES November 6, 2023

The ARTS COMMISSION convened in a SPECIAL CALLED meeting on 6, November 2023 at Austin Energy, Mueller Assembly Rm 1111a (115). 4815 Mueller Blvd, Austin, TX 78723

Commissioner Zisman called the ARTS COMMISSION Meeting to order at 6:06 p.m.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance: Celina Zisman, Heidi Schmalbach, Kate Csillagi, Michael Vernusky, Acia Gray,

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely: Faiza Kracheni, Felipe Garza, Monica Maldonado,

Board Members Absent: Gina Houston, Nagavalli Medicharla, Amy Mok

CURRENT COMMISSIONERS:

Celina Zisman - Chair, Heidi Schmalbach - Vice Chair, Kate Csillagi, Monica Maldonado, Felipe Garza, Gina Houston, Michael Vernusky, Acia Gray, Faiza Kracheni, Amy Mok, Nagavalli Medicharla

AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

 Approve the minutes of the Arts Commission Regular Meeting on October 16, 2023. The minutes from the meeting of October 16, 2023 were approved on Commissioner Gray motion, Commissioner Schmalbach second on a 7-0 vote with Commissioners Houston, Medicharla, Garza, and Mok absent

DISCUSSION ITEMS

2. Discussion of Chair's Report on The Bridge Between Our History and the Path Ahead by Chair Zisman

A report was made by Commissioner Zisman and Kracheni

- 3. Discussion of the Art in Public Places Liaison Report by Commissioner Maldonado A report was provided by Commissioner Maldonado.
- 4. Discussion of the Austin Economic Development Corporation/Cultural Trust Advisory Committee by Austin Economic Development Corporation Board Member Carl Settles A report was provided by Carl Settles.
- Discussion of the Downtown Commission by Commissioner Mok No report given

STAFF BRIEFINGS

- 6. Staff briefing regarding an update on the Hotel Occupancy Tax by Laura Odegaard, Cultural Investment Program Manager
 The presentation was made by Laura Odegaard, Cultural Investment Program Manager
- Staff briefing regarding the Cultural Arts Funding Programs by Jesús Pantel, Cultural Funding Supervisor, and Laura Odegaard, Cultural Investment Program Manager
 The presentation was made by Jesús Pantel, Cultural Funding Supervisor, and Laura Odegaard, Cultural Investment Program Manager

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 8. Approve Art in Public Places Artwork Loan: Enter the Dragonfly by Jake and Jennifer Rodgers
 A motion to approve Item 8 on consent on Commissioner Gray motion, and Commissioner Schmalbach second on a 8-0 vote with Commissioners Houston, Medicharla and Mok absent
- 9. Approve Art in Public Places Artwork Loan: Troll by Thomas Dambo A motion to approve Item 9 on consent on Commissioner Maldonado motion, and Commissioner Vernusky second on a 8-0 vote with Commissioners Houston, Medicharla and Mok absent
- 10. Approve AIPP nominating committee recommendations for three new AIPP Panel members.
 A motion to approve Item 10 on Commissioner Maldonado motion, and Commissioner Schmalbach second on a 8-0 vote with Commissioners Houston, Medicharla and Mok absent

 Discussion and possible action on from Appeals Working Group Recommendations with Commissioners Schmalbach, Garza, Houston, and Zisman (chair)
 Update was given by Commissioner Zisman

WORKING GROUP UPDATES

- 12. Update from Emergency Funding and Proactive Strategies for Future Funding Working Group with Commissioners Schmalbach and Zisman (chair) Update was given by Commissioner Zisman
- Update from joint Arts/Music Commission Working Group on Urban Core Issues with Commissioners Gray, Maldonado, and Schmalbach (chair).
 Update was given by Commissioner Schmalbach
- 14. Update from Community Engagement Working Group with Commissioners Zisman, Houston, Csillagi, and Kracheni (chair)
 Update was given by Commissioner Kracheni

ITEMS FOR INFORMATION Items were shared

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Zisman adjourned the meeting at 7:54 P.M. without objection.

The minutes were approved at the December 11, 2023 meeting on Commissioner Schmalbach motion, Commissioner Grey second on a 6-0 vote with Commissioner Mok abstaining and Commissioners Csillagi, Maldonado, Medicharla, and Garza absent