

#### REGULAR MEETING of the COMMISSION ON VETERAN AFFAIRs MINUTES Wednesday, August 16, 2023 7:00 PM – Adjournment

City of Austin Permitting & Development Center 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr., Room 1215 Austin, TX 78752

### **CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:**

- P Christopher "Cam" Wilson, Chair
- V Kevin Lenau, Vice Chair
- A William Dahlstrom
- V Maria Brown-Spence
- **P** Armando Gonzales
- A Curtis Wyman
- **P** In person attendance
- $\mathbf{V} \mathbf{V}$ irtual attendance
- $\mathbf{A} Absent$

### **Staff Attendance**

Tamela Saldana Jacquelyn Alexander Jesus Simental

# CALL TO ORDER

Start: 7:27 PM

# **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION – GENERAL**

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

1. The minutes from the meeting of 07/21/2023 were approved on Chair, Christopher Wilson motion, Kevin Lenau second on a 6-0 vote. W. Dahlstrom, C. Wyman, M. Balch were absent.

V - Amber Schleuning V - Patrick Bissett A - Mark Balch Vacant – D6 Vacant – D9

# STAFF BRIEFINGS

#### **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

- 2. Presentation by Michael Ward Jr, CEO of Austin Urban Technology Movement on getting people into tech and helping them be engaged techies through job placement, workforce development, and digital equity assistance.
- 3. Presentation by Sharon Cannon, Youth Liaison with Austin Police Department on yearly projects/events that they do, including establishing new partnerships.
- 4. Discussion of veteran events in the City of Austin update by Chair Wilson. He's still trying to get a hold of Veterans Day Parade Committee but has not been successful.

### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

- 5. Chair Wilson made the motion to change the meeting location for the Commission on Veterans Affairs from the Permitting and Development Center to Austin City Hall second by A Schleuning on a 6-0 vote. W. Dahlstrom, C. Wyman, M. Balch were absent.
- 6. Chair Wilson made the motion to establish a working group to research nonprofits that service veterans of Austin and Travis County and make goals of what we will do with that list. Motion was second by A Schleuning on a 6-0 vote. W. Dahlstrom, C. Wyman, M. Balch were absent. K. Lenau and M. Brown-Spence will be part of the working group.

### FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

### **ADJOURNMENT**

END: 8:39

Chair C. Wilson made the motion to adjourn. A. Gonzales second the motion. Pass unanimously 6-0. W. Dahlstrom, C. Wyman, M. Balch were absent.

The minutes were approved at the 10/18/2023 meeting on Co-chair, Kevin Lenau motion, Patrick Bissett second on a 7-0 vote. C. Wilson and M. Brown-Spence were absent.