

# ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION REGULAR CALLED MEETING MINUTES WEDNESDAY, December 6, 2023

The ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION convened in a REGULAR meeting on Wednesday, December 6, 2023, at 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive in Austin, Texas.

Vice Chair Bedford called the Environmental Commission Meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

<u>Commissioners in Attendance</u>: Perry Bedford, Jennifer Bristol, Richard Brimer, Peter Einhorn, Mariana Krueger, Haris Qureshi, and David Sullivan

**Commissioners in Attendance Remotely: Melinda Schiera** 

Commissioners Absent: Hanna Cofer, Peter Einhorn, Colin Nickells, and Kevin Ramberg

# PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

None

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

1. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular Meeting on November 15, 2023

The minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular meeting on November 15, 2023 were approved on Commissioner Bristol's motion, Chair Krueger's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioner Bedford abstained. Commissioners Cofer, Einhorn, Nickells, and Ramberg were absent.

#### **PUBLIC HEARINGS**

1. **Name:** HCA Behavior Health Hospital, SP-2022-0516C

Applicant: Tim Wallace, Pacheco Koch a Westwood Company

Location: 2411 Park Bend Dr., Austin, Texas 78758

**Council District:** District 7

Staff: Pamela Abee-Taulli, Environmental Program Coordinator, Development Services

Department

**Applicant request:** Request to vary from LDC 25-8-342 to allow fill to 14 feet

Staff recommendation: Recommended with conditions

#### **Speakers**

#### Michael Whellan

A motion to close the public hearing was approved on Commissioner Bedford's motion, Commissioner Qureshi's second on a 7-0 vote.

A motion to approve the requested variance with conditions was approved on Commissioner Bristol's motion, Commissioner Sullivan's second on a 6-1 vote. Those voting aye were Commissioners Qureshi, Krueger, Bedford, Bristol, Sullivan, and Schiera. Commissioner Brimer voted nay. Commissioners Cofer, Einhorn, Nickells, and Ramberg were absent.

2. Consider a site-specific amendment to City Code Chapter 25-8, Subchapter A, Article 13 (Save Our Springs Initiative), as minimally required to address development related to the proposed resubdivision and development at 1905 and 1908 Airole Way. This action concerns land located in the Barton Springs Zone. Presented by Leslie Lilly, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department.

#### Speakers

Eric Erikson

A motion to close the public hearing was approved on Commissioner Bedford's motion, Commissioner Bristol's second on a 7-0 vote.

A motion to recommend the requested SOS Amendment with conditions was approved on Commissioner Bristol's motion, Commissioner Krueger's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioners Commissioner Brimer abstained. Commissioners Cofer, Einhorn, Nickells, and Ramberg were absent.

3. Consider amendments to Title 25 related to environmental protections at the Ann and Roy Butler Hike and Bike Trail. Presented by Leslie Lilly, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department.

A motion to close the public hearing was approved on Commissioner Bedford's motion, Commissioner Krueger's second on a 7-0 vote.

A motion to recommend the requested amendments to Title 25 was approved with conditions on Commissioner Bristol's motion, Commissioner Bedford's second on a 7-0 vote. Commissioners Cofer, Einhorn, Nickells, and Ramberg were absent.

#### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

4. Consider a recommendation regarding the "HOME" Land Development Code Amendments. Presented by Dave Sullivan, Environmental Commission member.

## **Speakers**

Mark May Tanya Payne Ana Aguirre Craig Nazor Ted Eubanks

A motion to support the proposed Land Development Code "HOME" Amendments was made by Commissioner Sullivan and seconded by Commissioner Bristol.

Commissioner Bristol made a motion to amend Commissioner Sullivan's motion by striking the sentence "Prohibit new construction under the "HOME" Amendments from being used as Bed and Breakfasts or Short-Term Rentals as currently allowed under SF and MF designations". The motion failed for lack of a second.

Commissioner Bristol made a motion to amend Commissioner Sullivan's motion by striking the sentence "Recommend Austin Energy sell its share of the Fayette Coal Power Plant by 2027 as part of Austin Energy's 2020 Climate Protection Plan and the Austin Climate Equity Plan". The motion failed for lack of a second.

Commissioner Brimer made a motion to amend Commissioner Sullivan's motion to add that the Environmental Commission supports the Community Development Commission's recommendations. The motion failed for lack of a second.

The main motion to support the proposed Land Development Code "HOME" Amendments was approved on Commissioner Sullivan's motion, Commissioner Bristol's second on a 7-0 vote. Commissioners Cofer, Einhorn, Nickells, and Ramberg were absent.

# WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES

- 5. Update from the Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Mariana Krueger, Colin Nickells, and Melinda Schiera

  Commissioner Brimer gave an update on the Urban Forestry Committee.
- 6. Update from the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
- 7. Update from the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee Jennifer Bristol
- 8. Update from the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Perry Bedford, Hanna Cofer, Haris Qureshi, and Kevin Ramberg
- 9. Update from the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board David Sullivan

Commissioner Sullivan gave an update on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board

10. Update from the Native Landscaping Working Group – Melinda Schiera, Perry Bedford, Richard Brimer, and David Sullivan

Commissioner Schiera gave an update on the Native Landscaping Working Group and the working group was disbanded.

## **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

Commissioner Sullivan requested a staff presentation or memo with information regarding transit for SMART housing.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Commissioner Bedford adjourned the meeting at 9:12 P.M.

The minutes were approved at the January 17, 2024 meeting on Commissioner Bedford's motion, Commissioner Qureshi's second on a 9-0 vote. Commissioners Nickells and Cofer abstained.