

WATER AND WASTEWATER COMMISSION REGULAR CALLED MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, January 17, 2024

The Water and Wastewater Commission convened in a regular called meeting on January 17, 2024, at Austin Energy Headquarters, 4815 Mueller Boulevard, Austin, Texas.

Chair Turrieta called the Water and Wastewater Commission to order at 6:01 p.m.

Commission Members in Attendance: William Moriarty (remote), Jesse Penn, Alex Navarro, Mike Reyes, Shwetha Pandurangi, Judy Musgrove (remote), Christopher Maxwell-Gaines, Marcela Tuñón Sion, Chair Susan Turrieta

Commission Members Absent: Sam Angoori, Sabrina Reichert

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

There were no speakers registered to speak.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approval of minutes from the November 8, 2023, regular meeting of the Water and Wastewater Commission.

The minutes from the November 8, 2023, regular meeting were approved with edits to Item 13 recognizing Commissioner Alex Navarro's appointment to Austin Water's Cost of Service Public Involvement Committee on Commissioner Navarro's motion and Commissioner Maxwell-Gaines' second on an 8-0 vote with Commissioner Pandurangi off the dais, and Commissioners Angoori and Reichert absent.

DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- 2. Recommend approval to execute a contract for underwater diving inspections with Specialty Offshore, Inc., for a term of five years in an amount not to exceed \$740,000. Recommended by the Water and Wastewater Commission on Commissioner Penn's motion and Commissioner Tuñón Sion's second on an 8-0 vote with Commissioner Pandurangi off the dais, and Commissioners Angoori and Reichert absent.
- Recommend approval to execute a contract for hydrogen peroxide solution, feed system, and maintenance with US Peroxide, LLC d/b/a USP Technologies, for a term of five years in an amount not to exceed \$3,275,000.
 Recommended by the Water and Wastewater Commission on Commissioner Penn's
 - motion and Commissioner Maxwell-Gaines' second on an 8-0 vote with Commissioner Pandurangi off the dais, and Commissioners Angoori and Reichert absent.
- 4. Recommend approval to negotiate and execute an Advance Funding Agreement with **Texas Department of Transportation** for the relocation and adjustments of existing water and wastewater lines and appurtenances in conflict with the TxDOT Loop 360 at RM2222 and Courtyard Roadway Project in the amount of \$8,871,283.20 plus a 10% contingency of \$887,128.32 for a total amount not to exceed \$9,758,411.52. (Districts 8 & 10)

Recommended by the Water and Wastewater Commission on Commissioner Penn's motion and Commissioner Tuñón Sion's second on an 8-0 vote with Commissioner Pandurangi off the dais, and Commissioners Angoori and Reichert absent.

5. Recommend approval to negotiate and execute a cost participation agreement with **Urban Moment** for the City to reimburse the developer for an amount not to exceed \$3,220,000.00 for costs associated with the design and construction of an oversized wastewater main, force main, lift station, and appurtenances related to Service Extension Request No. 5646 that will provide wastewater service to a proposed condominium development located at 12905 Lowden Lane.

Recommended by the Water and Wastewater Commission on Commissioner Penn's motion and Commissioner Tuñón Sion's second on an 8-0 vote with Commissioner Pandurangi off the dais, and Commissioners Angoori and Reichert absent.

REPORTS BY COMMISSION SUBCOMMITTEES

- 6. Update from the Joint Sustainability Committee **Commissioner Chris Maxwell-Gaines provided an update.**
 - 7. Update from the Austin Integrated Water Resource Planning Community Task Force Commissioner William Moriarty Commissioner Moriarty provided an update.

STAFF BRIEFINGS

8. Staff briefing on Winter Preparedness – Austin Water Director Shay Ralls Roalson and Assistant Director Anna Bryan-Borja provided an update and answered commissioner questions.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

9. Discussion of future agenda items – No new briefing requests were requested by commissioners.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Turrieta adjourned the meeting at 7:01 p.m.

The minutes were approved at the February 14, 2024 regular meeting on Commissioner Penn's motion and Commissioner Maxwell-Gaines' second on a 7-0 vote, with Commissioner Pandurangi off the dais and Commissioners Navarro, Angoori and Musgrove absent.