

ZONING & PLATTING COMMISSION AGENDA

Tuesday, February 20, 2024

The Zoning and Platting Commission will convene at 6:00 PM on Tuesday, February 20, 2024, at Austin City Hall, Council Chambers, Room 1001 301 W. Second Street, Austin, TX.

Some members of the Zoning and Platting Commission may be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live

Scott Boone (District 1)
Alejandra Flores (District 5)
William D. Floyd (Mayor)
David Fouts (District 2)
Kendra Garrett (District 9)
Betsy Greenberg - Vice-Chair (District 6)

<u>Hank Smith</u> – Chair (District 8) <u>Lonny Stern</u> (District 3) <u>Carrie Thompson</u> – Secretary (District 10)

> District 4 - Vacant District 7 - Vacant

EXECUTIVE SESSION (No public discussion)

The Zoning & Platting Commission will announce it will go into Executive Session, if necessary, pursuant to Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code, to receive advice from Legal Counsel on matters specifically listed on this agenda. The commission may not conduct a closed meeting without the approval of the city attorney. Private Consultation with Attorney – Section 551.071

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION

The first four (4) speakers signed up prior to the speaker registration deadline will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

Attorney: Steven Maddoux, 512-974-6080

Commission Liaison: Andrew Rivera, 512-974-6508

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approval of minutes from February 6, 2024.

PUBLIC HEARINGS

2. Rezoning: C14-2023-0120 - Chaparral 10% Below; District 2

Location: 211 & 203 Chaparral Rd; 7005 & 7007 Circle S. Rd., South Boggy Creek

Watershed

Owner/Applicant: Rundog Real Estate Group (Mr. Justin Poses)

Agent: RD Chaparral Subd LLC

Request: SF-2 to SF-4A Staff Rec.: Recommended

Staff: Cynthia Hadri, 512-974-7620, cynthia.hadri@austintexas.gov

Planning Department

3. Rezoning: <u>C14-2023-0121 - Bradshaw; District 2</u>

Location: 10801 Bradshaw Road, Rinard Creek Watershed

Owner/Applicant: DRMTX Investments LLC

Agent: Keepers Land Planning (Ricca Keepers)

Request: I-RR to SF-3
Staff Rec.: Recommended

Staff: Cynthia Hadri, 512-974-7620, cynthia.hadri@austintexas.gov

Planning Department

4. Zoning: C14-2023-0100 - Optimist Club Recreation, District 6

Location: 13504 ½ Briarwick Drive, 9100 Meadowheath Drive, 13332 Villa Park

Drive, 13300-134011 Morris Road, Lake Creek Watershed

Owner/Applicant: Optimist Club of Town & Country Round Rock

Agent: Thrower Design LLC (A. Ron Thrower)

Request: I-RR to GR-CO Staff Rec.: Recommended

Staff: Sherri Sirwaitis, 512-974-3057, sherri.sirwaitis@austintexas.gov

Planning Department

Postponement

Request:

Postponement request by Staff to March 5, 2024

BRIEFING

5. Equity-Based Preservation Plan

Presenter: Cara Bertron, 512- 974-1446, cara.bertron@austintexas.gov, Planning Department

Attorney: Steven Maddoux, 512-974-6080

Commission Liaison: Andrew Rivera, 512-974-6508

ITEMS FROM THE COMMISSION

6. Discussion and possible action establishing a working group tasked with providing recommendations regarding the Fiscal Year 24-25 Budget. (Sponsors: Vice-Chair Greenberg and Commissioner Stern)

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Future agenda items will not be discussed at the current meeting, but will be offered for initiation, discussion or possible recommendation at a future meeting.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Codes and Ordinances Joint Committee (Commissioners: Flores, Greenberg and Stern)

Comprehensive Plan Joint Committee (Commissioners: Fouts, Smith and Thompson)

Small Area Planning Joint Committee (Commissioners: Flores, Floyd and Greenberg)

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please call Andrew Rivera at the Planning Department, at 512-974-6508, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Attorney: Steven Maddoux, 512-974-6080

Commission Liaison: Andrew Rivera, 512-974-6508

SPEAKER REGISTRATION

All participants wishing to address the commission must register to speak. Public participation is available by teleconference or in-person.

Teleconference Registration

Registration for participation by teleconference closes on **Tuesday**, **February 20**, **2024 at 2 PM**. Teleconference code and additional information to be provided after the closing of teleconference registration.

In-Person Registration

While it's encouraged for attendees to register in advance, in-person registration ends at **5:30 PM** on the day of the meeting. In-person speakers can register by scanning the QR code provided in Council chambers using their mobile devices. Additionally, public-use mobile devices will be available at the meeting for speaker registration.

Speaker Donation of Time

For discussion cases, speaker donation of time is an available option for in-person participants. Both the registered speaker donating time and the speaker recipient must be present when the public hearing is conducted. See chart below regarding speaker time allotments. Each speaker may receive up to 3 minutes of donated time.

Click on link below or scan the QR code and submit the form to register to speak. Speakers should submit a separate registration form for each item of interest.

https://forms.office.com/g/90fSJ07xY9



Please contact Andrew Rivera, Commission Liaison, for questions regarding speaker registration at Andrew.rivera@austintexas.gov or by phone 512-974-6508.

PARKING & VALIDATION

Parking is available at the City Hall parking garage and is free with validation.

Speakers Testimony Time Allocation

	6 minutes each, up to 9 total minutes with donation of
Primary speaker in favor and primary speaker opposed	time.
	3 minutes each, up to 6 minutes total with donation of
All other speakers in favor or opposed	time.

Presentations and handouts are requested to be e-mailed to Commission Liaison

Andrew Rivera at Andrew.rivera@austintexas.gov by 1:00 PM day of the meeting.