

# Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission February 21, 2024 at 6:00 PM Permitting And Development Center, Events Center, Room 1405 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive Austin, Texas 78752

Some members of the Environmental Commission will be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live">http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</a>

Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone.

To register to speak remotely, call or email Elizabeth Funk, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 568-2244, Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov no later than noon, the day before the meeting. The following information is required: speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, email address and telephone number (must be the same number that will be used to call into the meeting).

CURRENT COMMISSIONERS: Colin Nickells

Haris Qureshi Jennifer Bristol, Secretary
Peter Einhorn Kevin Ramberg, Chair
Mariana Krueger David Sullivan
Melinda Schiera Richard Brimer
Hanna Cofer Perry Bedford, Vice Chair

**AGENDA** 

#### CALL TO ORDER

# **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

1. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Commission Regular Meeting on February 7, 2024

### **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

- 2. Presentation of Development Assessment Report for 500 South Congress, located at 500 South Congress Avenue, CD-2023-0001 (District 9). Applicant: Richard T. Suttle, Armbrust & Brown, PLLC. Staff: Sherri Sirwaitis, Planning Department, and Leslie Lilly, Environmental Program Manager, Watershed Protection Department
- 3. Presentation on the status of Austin Light Rail. Presenters: Jen Pyne, Executive Vice President Planning, Community & Federal Programs, Lisa Storer, Sustainable Design Program Manager, and Yannis Banks, Public Involvement Manager (Austin Transit Partnership)

# **WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES**

- 4. Update from the Urban Forestry Committee Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Mariana Krueger, Colin Nickells, and Melinda Schiera
- 5. Update from the Joint Sustainability Committee Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Brimer (alternate member)
- 6. Update from the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee

   Jennifer Bristol
- 7. Update from the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Perry Bedford, Hanna Cofer, Haris Qureshi, and Kevin Ramberg
- 8. Update from the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board David Sullivan

## **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call **Elizabeth Funk**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 568-2244, <a href="Elizabeth-Funk@austintexas.gov">Elizabeth-Funk@austintexas.gov</a>, Watershed Protection Department, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Elizabeth Funk**, (512) 568-2244, <u>Elizabeth.Funk@austintexas.gov</u>, Watershed Protection Department.