

URBAN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, February 6, 2024

The Urban Transportation Commission convened in a REGULAR meeting on Tuesday, February 6, 2024, at City Hall in Austin, Texas.

Chair Somers called the Urban Transportation Commission Meeting to order at 5:04 p.m.

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:

Susan Somers, Chair Ruven Brooks, Vice Chair Arlin Alvarez Daniel Kavelman Melissa Ortiz Spencer Schumacher

Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:

Diana Wheeler

PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Ryan Saunders – Protected Residential Parking Diana Prechter – Zilker Park Parking Santiago - Bridges

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve the minutes of the URBAN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING on 12/5/2023.

The minutes from the meeting of 12/5/2023 were approved on Commissioner Schumacher's motion, Commissioner Alvarez's second on a 7-0 vote. Commissioners Smith, Leyton and Wheeler absent. Two vacancies on the dais.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

2. Discussion on the roles and responsibilities of each City department and office involved in the implementation of mobility-related projects and programs.

The commission received the presentation from Jim Dale, Transportation and Public Works

- 3. Discussion on Austin Light Rail update
 The commission received the presentation from Jennifer Pyne, Lindsay Wood, and Jocelyn
 Vokes, Austin Transit Partnership
- 4. Discussion on public engagement and strategic planning for Austin Metro Bike The commission received the presentation from Peter Breton, Cap Metro
- Discussion on Transportation and Public Works grants outlook for 2024
 The commission received the presentation from Andrei Lubomudrov, Transportation and Public Works

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 6. Discussion and possible action on the Commission's 2024 meeting dates. **No action taken.**
- 7. Discussion and possible action on recommendation relating to Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Policy Board.

 Item postponed due to a lack of a quorum; Commissioners Alvarez and Ortiz abstaining. Commissioners Leyton and Smith absent. Two vacancies on the dais.

Chair Somers adjourned the meeting at 7:54 p.m. without objection.

The minutes were approved at the 3/5/2024 meeting on Schumacher's motion, Brooks second on a 7-0 vote. Commissioners Leyton and Smith absent. Two vacancies on the dais.