

# Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

REGULAR MEETING
MINUTES
Wednesday – January 10<sup>th</sup>, 2024 – 6:30PM
City Hall – Boards and Commissions – Room 1101
301 W 2<sup>nd</sup> Street - Austin, TX 78701

Please go to <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm">http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm</a> for backup materials associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (City Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Spectrum, Grande Communications, and Google Fiber on their cable channel 6, on AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of the cablecast. Schedules and video can be found at: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.">http://www.austintexas.gov/page/atxn-video-archive.</a>

The Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission convened in a REGULAR meeting on Wednesday, December 13th, 2023, at 301 W. 2<sup>nd</sup> St. in Austin, Texas.

#### **Current Commission Members**

Keith Pena Villa - Mayor Kirk Watson
Nehemiah Pitts III - Council Member Natasha Harper-Madison, District 1
Steven Apodaca – Council Member Vanessa Fuentes, District 2
Carina Alderete - Council Member José Velásquez, District 3
Cristina Garza - Council Member José "Chito" Vela, District 4
Thomas Rice- Council Member Ryan Alter, District 5
Gabriel Nwajiaku- Council Member Mackenzie Kelly, District 6
Maxine Eiland - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Amarige Azzam - Council Member Paige Ellis, District 8
Vacant – Council Member Zohaib "Zo" Qadri, District 9
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Alison Alter, District 10

#### **Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance:**

Nehemiah Pitts III, Chair

### **Board Members/Commissioners in Attendance Remotely:**

Sumit DasGupta Cristina Garza Keith Pena Villa Maxine Eliand Thomas Rice Gabriel Nwajiaku Keith Pena Villa

#### **Board Members/Commissioners Not in Attendance:**

Steven Apodaca, Vice Chair Carina Alderete Amarige Azzam

# **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Pitts called the Community Technology and Telecommunications Meeting to order at 6:45 p.m.

# **PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

The first ten speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No members of the public were signed up to speak.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

1. Approve the minutes of the Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Regular meeting on December 13<sup>th</sup>, 2023.

Motion to approve the minutes made by Commissioner DasGupta and seconded by Commissioner Nwajiaku. The minutes from (11/8/2023) were NOT approved on a vote of 5-1. Vice Chair Apodaca abstained.

## **STAFF BRIEFINGS**

- 2. "You're Being Watched AI & Surveillance in Public Places" Presentation (Sharon Strover Director, Technology & Information Policy Institute, Phillip G. Warner Regents Professor of Communication, Moody College of Communications, University of Texas at Austin)
  - This briefing had to be rescheduled to a further date.
- 3. Update on the Creative Careers Program (Rakeda Ervin Program Director, Austin Film Society)
  - The presentation on the Creative Careers Program was delivered by Rakeda Ervin and can be viewed at this link: https://austintx.new.swagit.com/videos/294610
- 4. Presentation on Autonomous Vehicles (Rachel Castignoli Business Process Consultant Senior, Transportation and Public Works)

The presentation on the Autonomous Vehicles was delivered by Rachel Castignoli and Kirk Scanlon can be viewed at this link: https://austintx.new.swagit.com/videos/294610

# **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

5. Discussion Over Possible After Action Regarding the Texas Digital Opportunity Plan Comment Period

Chair Pitts discussed Texas Digital Opportunity Plan's (TDOP) public comment period, with emphasis on the importance of community involvement in shaping the plan. Efforts were made to disseminate information through district offices, with varying degrees of success reported by commissioners. Although the initial public comment period has closed, there remains an open dialogue with the Texas BDO office, and further outreach to council member offices was suggested. Chair Pitts brought up possible next steps following the TDOP comment period, focusing on waiting for a future revision of the plan. The Digital Empowerment Community of Austin's (DECA) submission was mentioned, and assistance from city staff was requested to share this submission with the whole commission. It was noted that the commission had fallen below quorum in that moment.

# The meeting was forcibly adjourned due to falling below quorum at 7:36PM

6. Updates Regarding the Digital Inclusion Town Hall Listening Session on 1/27

The commission did not get the opportunity to address this item.

### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

7. Discussion, Selection, and Approval of Grant for Technology Opportunities Program 2024 Review Panel

The commission did not get the opportunity to address this item.

### **WORKING GROUP/COMMITTEE UPDATES**

8. Update from Digital Inclusion, Civic Engagement, and Strategic Technology and Telecom Policy Working Group

The commission did not get the opportunity to address this item.

- 9. Update from the Knowledge, Information, and Data Stewardship Working Group
  - The commission did not get the opportunity to address this item.
- 10. Update from Technology, Infrastructure, and Innovation Working Group

The commission did not get the opportunity to address this item.

# **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

- AI & Surveillance in Public Places Presentation by Sharon Strover
- Housing and Planning Department Action Plan 24-25
- Community Town Hall Reschedule
- Budget Recommendations Preliminary Discussion
- GTOPs Panel Selection and Vote of Approval

# **ADJOURNMENT**

### The meeting was forcibly adjourned due to a lack of quorum

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Dan Martinez at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-3510, for additional information; TTY users' route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a> or contact Dan Martinez at <a href="mailto:dan.martinez@austintexas.gov">dan.martinez@austintexas.gov</a>

The Minutes were approved at the March 26<sup>th</sup>, 2024 Special Called Meeting on Commissioner Alderete's Motion and Vice Chair Apodaca's Second with a final vote of 7-0. Commissioner DasGupta was not present for the vote.