

City of Austin

Recommendation for Action

File #: 24-4413, Agenda Item #: 8.

5/2/2024

Posting Language

Approve a resolution appointing Rajeev Thomas to the Austin-Bergstrom Landhost Enterprises, Inc. board of directors and amending the Austin-Bergstrom Landhost Enterprises, Inc. articles of incorporation and bylaws.

Lead Department

Aviation.

Prior Council Action:

January 27, 2021 - Council approved Resolution No. 20210127-003 appointing Tracy Thompson, Mukesh "Mookie" Patel, Leslie Thorne, Jennifer Williams, and Angelo DeCaro as directors of the Austin-Bergstrom Landhost Enterprises, Inc. board of directors and determined their terms.

May 23, 2019 - Council approved Resolution No. 20190523-007 appointing Jim Smith to the board of directors of Austin-Bergstrom Landhost Enterprises, Inc. to replace Art Alfaro.

March 22, 2018 - Council approved Resolution No. 20180322-007 appointing Interim Assistant City Manager Joe Pantalion to the board of directors of Austin-Bergstrom Landhost Enterprises, Inc.

April 13, 2017 - Council approved Resolution No. 20170413-003 appointing Assistant City Manager Bert Lumbreras to the board of directors of Austin-Bergstrom Landhost Enterprises, Inc. for a full term.

For More Information:

Please contact Tracy Thompson, Airport Chief Officer - Business & External Affairs at tracy.thompson@flyaustin.com.

Council Committee. Boards and Commission Action:

April 10, 2024 - Recommended by the Austin Airport Advisory Commission on a 9-0-0-2 vote with Commissioners Todd and Madole absent.

Additional Backup Information:

Austin-Bergstrom Landhost Enterprises, Inc. (ABLE) is a public facility corporation created by the City to finance the development of the Hilton Hotel at Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and to oversee its operation and management.

At its February 6, 2024, meeting, the ABLE board of directors (Board) voted to recommend the appointment of Rajeev Thomas, Chief Financial Officer for the Department of Aviation, to fill the vacancy on the ABLE Board created by the resignation of Mukesh "Mookie" Patel. The ABLE Board consists of five members, and the other members of the Board are Angelo DeCaro, Jennifer Williams, Tracy Thompson, and Leslie Thorne.

At its February 6, 2024, meeting, the ABLE Board also voted to amend the articles of incorporation (Amended and Restated Articles of Incorporation) and bylaws (Amended and Restated Bylaws), which are shown in the attached Exhibit A and Exhibit B, respectively. The Amended and Restated Articles of Incorporation amend

5/2/2024

provisions related to the number of directors, add the name and address of Rajeev Thomas to the list of directors, and update ABLE's registered agent. The Amended and Restated Bylaws update the qualifications and amend provisions relating to the number and term of office and resignation therefrom, of individuals designated as Department of Aviation Directors on the ABLE Board, modify the procedure for calling meetings and clarify provisions relating to quorum for such meetings.